Sandusky County, OHGenWeb

Home | Archives | Biographies | Cemeteries | Census | Cities & Towns | Funeral Homes | History | Libraries & Societies | Maps | Military | Townships | Vital Records
County Coordinator:
Denise Wells
State Coordinator:
Dale Grimm


GREEN CREEK township embraces an area six miles square, bounded on the north by Riley, on the east by York, on the south by Seneca county, and on the west by Ballville. The surface is more undulating; than any other part of the county, except in the immediate vicinity of the river in Ballville township. Three well defined sand ridges angle through the township in a northeast and southwest direction. The roads on the summit of these ridges are the oldest, the ridges being followed on account of their dryness. These roads in dry weather become almost impassable for heavily freighted wagons, as the wheels sink in the sand to the depth of six inches, causing resistance almost as great as clay mud in spring time. These roads are always best just after a dashing rain.

The township is drained by three creeks of considerable size, all flowing the whole length of the territory from south to north. Farthest east is Raccoon Creek, which passes through the village of Clyde. Through the centre flows South Creek, which rises in this township. The stream of greatest size is Green Creek, the two branches of which meet about one mile and a half from the Seneca county line. The west branch rises in Seneca county, its source being a spring which discharges about six hundred cubic feet of water per minute. The spring which gives rise to the east branch is the most celebrated place in the county.


One-half mile north of the Seneca county line IS a beautiful valley shaded by young forest trees, near the centre of which is a spring of rare interest, whether aesthetically or scientifically considered. A river of water forces itself through a fissure in the rock-bed fifty feet below the surface and overflows from a great well ten feet in circumference, and reaching to the depth of eighteen feet without an obstruction, at the rate of more than two barrels per second. The water is strongly saturated with sulphur and mineral solutions which stain every substance coming in contact with it, a rich green, varying in shade under the influence of light. Nowhere in nature is to be seen a more gorgeous display of coloring than in this well on a clear morning when the angling rays of the sun, reflected by the rising current of clear liquid, give to every object an appearance of moving and gorgeously colored forms.

That the Indian has an appreciation of the beautiful in nature is shown by the historical connections of the place. The surrounding grove was once an Indian clearing and at the same time a place of resort and amusement. Here the chiefs met for consultation and mingled with the sulphurous odors of the waters the smoke of cannakanick, arrow wood and tobacco.

The Senecas, whose reservation included the spring, knew well the medicinal properties of the water, and were familiar with its uses. There are many traditional stories connected with the departure of these Indians and the springs. They are of little historic value, being probably poetic inventions. One of these generally accredited is, that a council of chiefs ordered that the spring should be forever destroyed before their unwilling departure for the unknown regions of the West. Logs were cut and thrown into the well lengthwise, brushes, earth and stones were piled upon them, and the channel thus closed. But the force of the ascending current was irresistible; water would plow its way through the interstices which greatly enraged the Indians. A celebrated chief damned the water, and to emphasize the curse which he had pronounced, placed the muzzle of his heavily charged musket in the stubborn stream, and fired, but the barrel burst, which indicated the disapprobation of the Great Spirit, and no further attempts to destroy this healer of man's infirmities were made by the red men.

The water has been known to possess healing properties ever since the first settlement of the country. Year by year the number who came to receive its benefits, increased, until better accommodations became desirable. In the summer of 1868 Robert Smith, the owner of the property, organized a stock company for the improvement of the grounds and the erection of suitable buildings. Having had the water analyzed, the company became sanguine of being able to build up a great health institution. A large hotel and water cure building was erected, and has been open for the reception of patients and visitors since that time. The company is largely indebted to Dr. Sprague, who, by efficient management, gave the institution a full share of its well deserved popularity.

From the spring a stream capable of turning a large mill, flows through a beautiful glen. The water at several places in Green Creek township contains mineral solutions, but nowhere in such per centage as at Green Spring. Fish come up Green Creek to within about four miles of its source. The bay near the mouth of Green Creek is filled with bass and other fish, but they are unable to live in sulphur water, except very small solution.


Considerable attention is given this tribe of Indians, or more properly, collection of tribes, in the chapter relating to Ballville, and also in the general history in the fore part of this volume. But as their new council house stood within the present boundaries of this township, and consequently in later years the seat of empire changed, it is proper that something should be said in this connection descriptive of the habits and life of these semi-barbarians.

They had been driven from their native homes in New York, corrupted by contact with the border settlements, and as we find them in this county from 1818 to 1831, confined to a comparatively small tract of forty thousand acres. The general description which we here present is based upon an interview with Judge Hugh Welsh, of Seneca county, who knew these people well. He, in fact, was one among them. It will be seen that the distance between the red-skin and the white-skin was not so great as is commonly supposed.

The members of the several tribes — Wyandots, Mohawks, Oneidas, and Senecas — did not speak a language sufficiently uniform in vocabulary to carry on common conversation. They, however, made each other understand their simple wants. Their vocabularies were very different. The Wyandots called tobacco "hamahmah," the Senecas and Mohawks, "mah." The Mohawks called a knife "winnasrah," accenting the last syllable, while the Senecas accented next to the last.

Quite a number of the Indians had shanties built of twelve foot poles, notched at the corners like a corn crib, and covered with bark. The roof was also made of bark weighted down with poles. They lived in these huts winter and summer, except when hunting. They frequently made expeditions to trap, hunt, and make sugar. There was more game here than further west where there were more Indians. There were plenty of deer, bear, and wolves. There never were any beaver in this vicinity. Venison was the staple food, but in winter, while the deer were poor in consequence of snow on the ground, raccoons, turkeys, etc., were used for food instead of venison. Indians are born strategists as well as hunters. Close observation and native ingenuity enabled them to invent calls by which deer and turkeys were enticed almost within reach. Turkeys were called by hiding behind a log and sucking air through the bone of a turkey wing. In this way a sound was made identical with that of a tame turkey hen. The deer call was made by blowing through a hollow piece of wood with one end stopped up and a hole cut in at the side, over which was fastened a piece of metal. The sound was like that of a young fawn bleating ma-a-a-a.

These Indians had a great many ponies, almost every man owning one. Many of the squaws were also expert riders. The only grain they cultivated was corn, which they raised in little patches. The corn raised on a quarter of an acre would keep two or three individuals in that article a whole winter. Several methods were employed for preparing corn, but the common practice was to boil the grain whole, the hull having been removed with lye. There was, however, variety in the manner of serving their plain fare. The corn was sometimes pounded to a meal and sifted through a skin with holes punched in it. The meal was baked into bread, and the coarser pieces remaining in the sieve were made into hominy. The pounding was done in a mortar made by cutting a tree off square and cutting or burning out the centre. The pestle was a hard piece of iron-wood, made round at both ends. The squaws did the pounding as well as cooking. Meat was usually boiled with the corn. A peculiarity of their eating was that only one article was eaten at a time. They never mixed different kinds of food in their mouths.

Their corn was long-eared, and had eight rows of grains, sometimes entirely blue, some almost black, and some a mixture of white, blue, and black. It is raised in this county yet sometimes, the seed having come from the Indians.

Their kettles were of copper or brass, and held from ten to fifteen gallons. These were used for making sugar and hominy. They made considerable sugar which was used for sweetening corn. They tap])ed the trees by cutting in notches with hatchets, and made troughs of elm bark, for catching the sap. Canoes were made of the same material.

In the absence of kettles the meat and corn was placed on sticks and roasted. The Indians were particularly fond of roasting cars. They usually ate in small companies, in relationships rather than in families. At times food was hard to get, the supply of corn having been exhausted, and game scarce in spring time. Occasionally they were driven to the necessity of boiling old deer heads, which were anything but savory.

The boys used for hunting, bows and arrows. The arrows used for shooting low were made with heavy steel points, bought ready made. Feathers set on with a twist were always used on the sharp arrows. They hunted squirrels with a blunt arrow, on which there was no feather. Boys were given the rifle at the age of eighteen. Grown Indians generally hunted with the rifle.

These Indians were almost incessant smokers. Smoking is one of the few customs of civilized society to which the red man takes naturally. Drinking stimulants is another. The inference is that all humanity is naturally predisposed to both. The Senecas smoked tobacco and the bark of wahoo, which they called kannakanick. They also smoked the bark of a species of dogwood, and sometimes mixed all three of these articles in the same pipe. They were what has been termed aesthetic smokers, never indulging except when at leisure, which was the greater part of the time.

These Indians did their own tanning. If a hide was dry, they soaked it in the water of a running stream. They then stretched it over a smooth log the size of a man's leg, and with a knife-blade placed in a curved stick, would, scrape off all the hair and outside skin; then turning, they scraped off the flesh, and laid the skin out to dry. They then soaked them in deer's brains and warm water worked into a suds. After leaving them to soak two or three days, these self-taught tanners dressed them by rubbing with a stone much like those called axes which are sometimes ploughed up in the fields. The skins were frequently pulled during this operation. The leather thus tanned was colored by digging a hole in the ground, hanging the hides on sticks standing upright in this hole and throwing in burning rotten wood until the color suited.

Judge Welsh says:

When I first knew the Indians, the men dressed in moccasins and leggins, a calico shirt reaching to the knees or hips, and above a jacket, or some garment. The principal dress was, however, one of the Canadian blankets fastened with a belt. The arm was protected with deer-skin from brush in the woods. They wore bracelets and ornaments on the breast. The squaws wore broadcloth long enough to fasten with a belt at the waist. Above they wore a jacket; they had moccasins and leggins. They wore hats got from the whites, when they could get them, otherwise nothing. Leggins were worn much by the whites; rattlesnakes could not well strike through them. The Indians were fond of paints, using them especially in their war dances. For red they used blood-root; for yellow, some other root, the name of which is not recalled; and for black, coal mixed with grease or oil.

The Indians indulged much in gaming, foot-racing, horse-racing, and wrestling being the favorite sports. The burial customs of the Wyandots were like the whites. The Mohawks buried along Honey Creek, in Seneca county. The body was placed in a sort of box made of slabs or poles. The Sauks, Foxes, and Pottawattomies placed the body in a sitting posture on the ground, and built a pen around of sticks and logs.


Sometime during the war of 1812 Samuel Pogue, a soldier in General Harrison's army, drove a stake near the spring in the west part of Clyde, and declared his intention of settling at that place after the cessation of hostilities. It is also learned from tradition that after viewing the surrounding country from the elevation on the other side of the creek, he ventured the prophesy that sometime a town would occupy that land. This prophesy was made nearly seventy years ago, when Fort Stephenson and a few army trails were the only evidence, in this county, of the existence of white men; when the forest abounded in the native animals of the locality; railroads existed only in the fancy of dreamy philosophers. But when Mr. Pogue, in 1820, came to take formal possession of the land he had selected, he found a hastily-built cabin occupied by the family of Jesse Benton. Benton had preceded him but a few weeks, and was attracted by the same spring and general surroundings. A squatter's title is possession, and Benton had possession, but being a typical squatter Mr. Pogue surmised his weak point and brought to bear on him the strongest temptation to abdicate the favorite tract.

The offer of a barrel of whiskey accomplished the purpose, and the cabin was vacated. Benton built a cabin further up the creek, and put out a tavern sign. This was an ideal pioneer tavern. One of the early settlers of York township informs us that he once stopped at Benton's when the table fare consisted entirely of squash. It was not the fault of the proprietor of this forest tavern, for it was simply impossible to obtain other food.

But before proceeding with this sketch it is proper that we should go back to mention the first family in the township — the Bakers. Samuel Baker, sr., emigrated from New York to Ohio in the winter of 1818 with a family of one son and four daughters. This was the first family to penetrate the woods of Green Creek and begin life among the Indians. The oldest son, Samuel, who died recently, was acquainted with the life of this community from its beginning. A biography of the family will be found in this volume. The Cleveland family settled in this township soon afterwards. A biographical sketch is given in this chapter.

Samuel Pogue was accompanied to the township by his stepson, Lyman F. Miller, Silas Dewey, Giles Thompson, and Amos Fenn. The farm on which he built his cabin and commenced a clearing was purchased at the first Government sale. After the death of Mr. Pogue it came into possession of his step-son, Lyman Miller, and his son-in-law, George R. Brown, who, after the railroads were built laid it out in lots, as will be seen further along.

These first families, Clevelands, Bakers, Pogue, Dewey, and Fenn, were not squatters in the common sense of that term. They came with the idea of staying — improving their farms and buying the land when it was placed upon the market. The squatter, in the commonly accepted sense of the term, was one who found a place to live in the wild country where he could supply the simple wants of his appetite without the inconvenience of hard labor. He reasoned well that it would be folly to stir his blood by swinging an axe for the benefit of the man who would eventually crowd him off. This class of squatters became a peculiar people. Living between the savage red man and the hard working pioneer, they became semi-savage. It should, therefore, be remembered that there is a wide difference between "squatters" and "squatter settlers," to which last-named class the pioneers of Green Creek belong. Thus having given a glimpse of the beginning of white occupation, we will now proceed to sketch briefly the general settlement of the township.

Amos Fenn was born in Litchfield county, Connecticut, in September, 1793. His educational facilities were limited, but a taste for reading led him to employ his leisure time in the acquisition of information, so that he became a remarkably well posted man. At the age of fifteen, his father having died, he was apprenticed at the trade of house carpentering. In 1817 he came to Ohio, and landed first at the mouth of the Huron, then went to Ogontz Place, now Sandusky. He was accompanied on this journey by Silas Dewey, with whom he afterwards came to Green Creek. While at Sandusky he made the acquaintance of W. B. Smith, whose sister he married. In February, 1820, he joined the party consisting of the Pogue family, Silas Dewey, and Giles Thompson, and came to Clyde. Mr. Camp was at that time making the survey of the Indian purchase, and found Mr. Fenn a valuable employe. When the land came into market, Mr. Fenn made a purchase and started an improvement. He was in the habit of saving the odds and ends of time. He occupied bad weather in the manufacture of chairs, which were in demand. Their substitution for slab benches was greatly appreciated by the labor-burdened settlers. Mr. Fenn served as justice of the peace for a period of eighteen years from 1843. He was also a local preacher of the Methodist church. Mrs. Fenn died in June, 1839. In 1840 he married Mrs. Brace, of Erie county, who is yet living. Mr.
Fenn died January 16, 1879.

Lyman Miller removed from New York, with his mother, his father having died some years before, and settled at Huron. His mother was married to Samuel Pogue at Huron, who in 1820 came to Green Creek. Mr. Miller attended the first school in the township, which was taught by Joshua Fairchilds. In 1835 he married Melissa Harkness, daughter of Dr. Harkness, of the Corners. His connection with the founding of Clyde is noticed in this chapter.

Giles Thompson, who lived on the opposite side of the creek from Mr. Pogue, was a man of good character. His wife was an invalid.

Jonathan Rathbun, grandfather of Saxton S. Rathbun, one of the oldest residents of the county, came to Sandusky county in 1820, and settled on what is now known as the Persing farm. He had four sons — Clark, Chaplin, Lucius, and Martin. Clark remained a few years, and then returned to New York. Chaplin lived and died in this township, on the place where S. S. Rathbun now lives. Lucius remained in the township, and reared a large family. He died in Michigan. Martin lived in the township a number of years, moved to Michigan, and died there. The daughters were: Sally, Marvel, Eliza, and Laura. Sally married Roswell Merrill, lived in Green Creek some years, and then returned to New York. Marvel married Lyman Jones, and lived and died in the township. Eliza married Amon Milliman, resided in Green Creek some time, and died in Michigan. Laura married John Davidson, and died in this township.

Chaplin and Lucinda (Sutliff) Rathbun came from Lorain county in 1824. They were born in New York State. Of their children one son and four daughters are living, viz: Saxton S., Janet (Cleveland), and Catharine (Huss), Green Creek; Sarah (Foster) and Eliza (Hunter), in Indiana.

S. S. Rathbun was born in Livingston county, New York, in 1813. In 1835 he married Barbara Huss. She bore him eleven sons and two daughters. The daughters and five of the sons are still living, viz: Norton G., Green Creek; Saxton Burton, Green Creek; Chaplin L., Ballville; Mary Lucinda (Storer), Green Creek; Martin Brace, Green Creek; Orvilla (Sackrider), Green Creek; and John E., Ballville.

Norton G. Rathbun was born in Sandusky county, Ohio, September 19, 1839. He is a son of Saxton S. and Barbara Rathbun, of this township. Mr. Rathbun was brought up and educated in Green Creek township. When young he travelled for some time in the West. He was married December 25, 1865, to Miss Elizabeth Hufford, daughter of Cornelius and Mary Hufford, of Ballville township. They have three children — Edwin, Arthur, and Herman. Mr. Rathbun was elected county commissioner in 1878, and is at present serving in that capacity. Previously he was superintendent of the infirmary.

Samuel McMillan came from Livingston county, New York, to Thompson township, Seneca county, in 1818, where he improved a farm and planted apple and peach seeds. In 1821 he purchased a tract of land near the present site of Clyde, and removed there with his family, consisting of a wife and five children. He brought to the township the first fruit trees — the growth from the seeds planted in Seneca county. Their children settled as follows: Samuel, in Central Ohio; Henry (deceased), in the western part of Clyde; Sibyl, wife of Norton Russell, York township; Nancy, widow of Elder Isaac May, Townsend; Luther P. settled in Wisconsin, where he died; Betsy died at Amsden's Corners, in 1818.

Henry McMillan married Sophia Beaucamp, a native of Guernsey Island, France. Their family consisted of seven children, only two of whom are living — Nancy and Mary. Nancy married Ezra Hall, who was born in Vermont, in 1829. He came to Clyde in 1852, being employed under a contract to lay railroad iron on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern railroad. He has made Clyde his home since that time. In 1853 he was married to Nancy McMillen, who was born in 1833. He is now engaged in gardening at Clyde. Their family consisted of one child — William. Mary McMillan is married to Gideon Rhodes, of Clyde. They have two children.

The following list of voters shows who were residents of the township in 1822. The poll is of the fall election: Samuel S. Baker, Benjamin Collings, Joshua Woodard, Samuel Uttley, Samuel Pogue, Josiah Rumery, Levi F. Tuttle, Silas Dewey, John J. Quackenbush, Jared H. Miner, Clark Cleveland, Moses Cleveland, Clark Cleveland, jr., Jesse Benton, Roswell Merrell, Jacob H. Benjamin, Jonathan Rathbun, Andrew McNutt, Lucius Rathbun, and Levi Sawyer. The whole number of votes at this election was twenty. At the first election, held the preceding spring, there were seventeen votes cast, but the list of names was not preserved. At the election held in the spring of 1823, thirty-two votes were polled. As these poll sheets approximately indicate the changes and increase of population, the full list is given: Jared H. Miner, Moses Cleveland, Josiah Rumery, Andrew Matoon, Abram Mauleray, Rozel Merrel, Samuel Pogue, Andrew McNutt, Levi Fox, Levi F. Tuttle, Jacob Wessels, James Guinall, Levi Dunham, John J. Quackenbush, Lucius Rathbun, Samuel McMillan,
George Jones, Joshua Woodard, Samuel S. Baker, George Kemp, Albert Guinall, Samuel Baker, Jesse Emerson, Harris Reed, Hiram Baker, Jesse Benton, Alexander McMurray, Jonathan Rathbun, Benjamin Collins, Gideon P. Chauncy, Clark Cleveland, Abraham Spunn.

We add one more list of electors, that of the October election,1813: George S. Beven, William Helens, William McPherson, Nathan Worster, Boston Shoup, John L Quackenbush, Silas Grover, Amos H. Hammond, Luther Porter, Elisha Babcock, Reuben Tilson, Silas Dewey, Elial Curtis, Hiram Hurd, James Morrill, Lucius Rathbun, Hugh Graham, Isaac W. Brown, John Netcher, William Netcher, George Hemp, Jacob Wessels, Jacob Daggot, John Monroe, Chaplin Rathbun, George Jones, Orsanus Barnard, Hiram Rice, Shubel Reynolds, James Gruinall,
James Rumsey, Erastus Tuttle, Elijah Buell, Jared Hoadley, Samuel McMillen, Jason Judd.

So rapidly did the township fill up after the initial improvements had been made that it is impossible even to give the names of all settlers, even those who built permanent homes. This part of the county has been particularly favored with a progressive, energetic class of people who have accumulated wealth, and given praiseworthy attention to matters of general culture and refinement. Brief mention of some of the leading families will not be inappropriate in this connection.

Elisha and Prudence (Hinkley) Babcock came from Middlesex, Ontario county. New York, in 1823, and settled on Butternut Ridge in Green Creek township, where they lived and died. They were among the very first settlers, and located in the then almost unbroken wilderness. They came by team all the way from New York State, from Buffalo going a part of the distance upon the ice, and arrived in the township in the month of March. The first few weeks after their arrival the family lived in an old sugar shanty until a cabin could be erected. After he had arrived and settled down, Mr. Babcock found himself with a cash capital of just two shillings.

Elisha Babcock died in 1841, aged fifty-four years; Mrs. Babcock in 1857, aged seventy-four. They were the parents of three sons and two daughters. Their oldest child, Esther, was married to Mr. Walldorff in New York State before her parents came to Ohio, and remained there until her decease. Laura became Mrs. Chapel, and afterwards the wife of J. C. Coleman, of Fremont. She is also dead. Clark, who married Ann Lee, died in Porter county, Indiana. Hiram married Mary Ann Lay, and after her decease Josephine Woodruff. He died upon the old place in Green Creek township about nine years ago. He has seven children living — three in this county, viz: Thomas, Green Creek; Margaret (Leslie), Michigan; Prudence (Drown), Pennsylvania; Mary (Gray), Wood county; Mahala(Craig), Iowa; Clementine and Harry, Green Creek.

Merlin Babcock, the only representative of the original family, was born in 1819, and now resides in York township. For his first wife he married Almira Dirlam. There were three children by this marriage: Sarah (Craig), Franklin county; Callie (Kinney), York township, and Frank, Clyde. For his second wife Mr. Babcock married Agnes Donaldson. John, the only child by this union, is now a resident of Colorado.

Adam Smith, a native of Pennsylvania, came to Fairfield county, Ohio, in 1820, and four years later settled in the western part of Green Creek. He died in 1854. Mrs. Smith, whose maiden name was Fanny Johnson, died in 1879. Their children were Mary (Brunthaver), Catharine (Preston), Samuel, Adam, and David.

Noah and Mary (Burkolder) Huss, natives of Pennsylvania, settled in Fairfield county in 1822, and in 1825 in Green Creek township. Two of their sons and four of their daughters are still living, viz: Mrs. Eleanor Hawk, Green Creek; James Huss, Centreville, Michigan; Mrs. Barbara Rathbun and Mrs. M. J. McIntyre, Green Creek; Jacob Huss, in California, and Mrs. Martha Conelly in Iowa.

Joseph Hawk was born in Pickaway county, in 1814. He came to Sandusky county in 1825. He married for his first wife Sarah Tillotson, by whom he had four children. For his second wife he married Martha Harris, by whom he had eight children, all of whom are living. Mr. Hawk has always given his exclusive attention to farming.

Truman Grover was born in New York, March 13, 18 10. He came to Green Creek in 1826, and in 1835 he married Catharine Swart. Their family consists of seven children, viz: Eunice (Perin), Milo, Frank, Margaret (Clapp), Enos, Melvina (Hart), and Ella. Ransom died at the age of twenty-one years. Mr. Grover has probably made more railroad ties than any man in the township, having furnished the ties for twenty-eight miles of the Michigan & Dayton; while for the Cleveland, Sandusky & Cincinnati, he furnished all the bridge and culvert timber from Green Spring to Castalia. Commencing in 1838 he worked about three years on the old Ohio railroad.

One of the old residents, William E. Lay, was born in Seneca county (now Tompkins county), New York, October 20, 1809. His parents, John and Mary Lay, moved to Ohio in 1816; stopped in Huron county a little over a year; moved to Seneca county and remained there until 1828, when they came to Sandusky county. John Lay died at the age of eighty-four, his wife at the age of seventy-six. William E. Lay was married, April 11, 1833, to Margaret Lee, of Adams township, Seneca county. They have had eleven children, nine of whom survive. The oldest, Minerva, died in infancy; Harkness N., resides at Clyde; Elizabeth, at home; Cornelia (Lefever), Green Creek; Henry S., at home; Clementine, at home; Frank, died at Savannah, Georgia, while in his country's service, in the nineteenth year of his age. He was in the Seventy-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry; was a prisoner at Andersonville, and the hardships and deprivations of that prison doubtless caused his death. Harkness was a member of the same regiment and was also imprisoned. Fidelia married Cyrus Alexander, Erie county. Alice is the wile of Cyrus L. Harnden, Clyde. William B. and Mabel are at home.

Samuel Storer was born near the city of Portland, Maine, January 22, 1807. He came to Ohio with his parents, Joseph and Charlotte Storer, who were among the pioneers. They settled at Zanesville in 1816; remained there ten years, moving to Cuyahoga county in 1827. Mr. Storer moved to Sandusky county in 1863. He was married, in 1831, to Sarah J. Fish, a daughter of James Fish, the first permanent settler in Brooklyn, Cuyahoga county, Ohio. They have seven children living, and three deceased, viz: Samuel Elisha (deceased); Sarah (Pool), Green Creek; Miranda P. (Cunningham), Clyde; James, Cleveland; Mary J. (Clapp), Green Creek; Susan M. (deceased); Charles W., Green Creek; John W. (deceased); Henrietta (Huss), Green Creek ; and Benjamin A., a physician at Republic, Seneca county. While Mr. Storer was in Brooklyn he carried on the business of tanning; since he settled in this county he has been a farmer. Mr. Storer is a Republican. Both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church.

Francis and Sarah (Swope) Ramsey came from Fairfield county, Ohio, to Sandusky county in 1830. Three of their children are living — David, in Green Creek; Jane, in Clyde; and Frank, in Kansas. George died at Clyde in 1879.

David Ramsey was born in Fairfield county in 1829. He married Sarah Ann York, by whom he had two children — Ella (Waugh) and Euphemia (Combs). Mr. Ramsey married, for his second wife, Charlotte McHenry, by whom he had three children, two of whom are living, Belle and Grace. Mr. Ramsey has served in various local official capacities.

Willard Perin was born in Massachusetts in 1802. The family removed to New York, and thence to Ohio in 1833. In 1833 Willard married Lucy Gale, and lives on the same farm on which he settled that year. Mrs. Perin died July 31, 1881, aged seventy. Their children are: Willard Henry, born in 1833, killed by a threshing machine in Michigan in 1862; Dolly Rebecca, born 1835, the wife of James B. Drown, Green Creek; William Taylor, born 1837; Fernando C., born 1839, died in Michigan in 1863; Austin G., born 1841, resides at Green Creek; Lucy A., born 1844, married Milo Grover, Green Creek; Bloomy E., born 1847, married John Shaw, Green Creek; Genevra A., born 1850, Green Creek.

John T. Perin, brother of Willard, was born in 1820. He came to this county in 1833. In 1848 he married Miss Gale, by whom he has four children.

William T. Perin, son of Willard Perin, married Eunice Grover, of this township, and has five children — Perry, Willie, Fannie, Frank, and Bertie.

Christian Huss was born February 21, 1815, and married, in 1837, Catharine Rathbun, who was born in Ontario county, New York, in 1818. Her parents removed thence to Lorain county, and a few years later to Sandusky county. Ten of her twelve children are living, viz.: Chaplin, Eliza (Morrison), Noah B., Burr, Maurice L., Jane (McMillan), Oliver P., Barbara (Young), Saxton, and Christian E. Christian Huss died in 1864, aged forty-nine years. He came from Pennsylvania to Ohio in 1824.

Hosea and Mary (Harrington) Harnden came to the county about 1835, and lived about one year on what is now the Hildwein farm. Then they moved and lived in different parts of the State until 1849, then they returned to the township and settled where Kneeland Harnden now lives. Jonathan Harnden, son of Hosea, came with his parents. He married Nancy Smith in Huron county, and was the father of nine children, six of whom are living, located as follows: Hosea and Kneeland, Green Creek; Smith, in Ottawa county; Alexander and Cyrus L., Clyde, Mary (Tuttle), Clyde. Jonathan Harnden died in 1867, aged fifty-two years, and Nancy Harnden in 1873, aged fifty-eight. Kneeland Harnden was born July 3, 1841, in Huron county, now Ashland county, and came to Sandusky county with his parents. In 1865 he married Hattie Fuller of Townsend township. They have two children, Minnie and John.

David Hawk was a native of Pennsylvania, and came to Ohio with his parents, Conrad and Elizabeth Hawk, when five years old. They lived in Huron county, and later came to Sandusky county. In 1829 David Hauk married Eleanor Huss, born in Pennsylvania in 1812. Mr. Hawk died, in 1855, aged fifty years. He was the father of fourteen children, thirteen living: David, Green Creek; John, California; Mary (Hutchins), Ballville; Lewis, died in Andersonville prison — was in the Seventy-second Regiment Ohio Volunteer Infantry; Noah, Green Creek; Charles, Iowa; George, Green Creek; Elizabeth (Parker), Iowa; James, Green Creek; Eliza (Scholey), Clyde; Clementine (Flora), Green Creek; Clarissa (Moore), Wood county; Cyrus, Green Creek; Alice (Young), Green Creek.

David Hawk is a son of David and Eleanor (Huss) Hawk, both of whom were members of some of the early families which settled in this township. Mr. Hawk was born in Green Creek township February 6, 1830, and his home has been here ever since, excepting about one year, which he spent in California at the time of the gold digging excitement. Mr. Hawk was married, September 1, 1853, to Mary O. McIntyre, daughter of Oliver and Maria (Tyler) McIntyre. His parents were both natives of New York, and she was born in Otsego county December 7, 1833. To Mr. and Mrs. Hawk have been born five children, viz: Frederick, who married Flora Short, and resides in this township; Maria, Oliver, Ralph, and Laura residing at home.

Charles Brush was born in the State of Pennsylvania, March 30, 1816. In the spring of 1833 he came to Ohio with his parents, Medad and Armida Brush, who located on the farm in Green Creek which he still occupies. The Brush family consisted of four children — Charles and three sisters: Mary Elizabeth (Thorp), Sally, Martha (Dawley), and Amanda Jane (Gray). Mrs. Gray died some years ago. The others all reside in Green Creek township. Charles Brush was married, October 26, 1856, to Hannah F. Swart, daughter of Conrad and Margaret Swart, of Green Creek. This union has resulted in two children: Pamela Aurelia, wife of Wilton C. Gray, Clyde, and Sarah Jane, wife of Willard S. Drown, Green Creek. They have also an adopted son, Stephen Sodan, now about twenty-one years of age. Mr. Brush has held various local offices.

Orrin and Annis (Gibbs) Dirlam were natives of Massachusetts, and Mrs. Dirlam died there. In 1833 Mr. Dirlam moved with his family to Green Creek township. Three of their sons and one daughter are still living: Martin Dirlam, Ashland county; Mrs. Mary Hutchinson, Green Creek; Franklin Dirlam, Townsend; and James Dirlam, Wood county. Franklin Dirlam was born in Blandford, Massachusetts, December 12, 1824; came to Ohio with his parents, who settled in Green Creek township. Mr. Dirlam was married in 1855 to Rebecca Van Buskirk, a native of Tuscarawas county, born in 1828. Her parents, William and Jemima (Lindsey) Van Buskirk, are residents of Riley, where they settled in 1833. Mr. and Mrs. Dirlam have five children living, two deceased: Howard, in Michigan; Adele, deceased; Etina, Burt, Inez, Henry B., at home. The next, a son, died in infancy. Mr. Dirlam served in the Mexican war over a year under Colonel Bruff He has resided in Townsend since 1856, and has held the office of township trustee.

Adam Brunthaver, father of the Brunthavers of Green Creek and Ballville townships, was born in Pennsylvania in 1787. He married Mary Ridenhour, and first settled in Fairfield county, Ohio. In 1835 the family moved to this county and settled in Green Creek. The family consisted of ten children, seven of whom are living, viz.: Henry, John, Peter, Mary, Christina, Elizabeth, and Leah. Mrs. Mary Brunthaver died in 1835. He married again in 1839, Mary Smith. The family by this wife consisted of twelve children, six of whom are living, viz.: Lewis, Martin, William, Margaret, Delilah, and Martha. Mr. Brunthaver died in 1859, the patriarch of a large and respectable family. Peter Brunthaver was born in Fairfield county in 1823. He married, in 1847, Mary J. Cook, and has a family of seven children living, viz.: Charles E., Washington, District of Columbia; Samuel W., Wood county; Orrin J., Ballville; Frank P., Ballville; Lucinda J. (Dawley), Green Creek; Ellen E. (Bennett), Wood county, and Minnie E., Ballville. Mr. Brunthaver, by trade, is a carpenter. He lives on a farm in Ballville township. Lewis Brunthaver was born in Green Creek township in 1839. In 1860 he married Laurena Forgerson. Two of their four children are living, Elnora and Ralph. William Brunthaver was born on the old homestead in 1850. In 1874 he married Annis Smith. Meta O. is their only child.

John Brunthaver was born in Fairfield county in 1815. In 1846 he married Matilda Schouten and has six children — Esther (Jay), in this county; Mary (Waltrus), near Genoa, Ohio; J. W., Rodolphus, Lavina, and Flora, in Green Creek. Five children died before reaching maturity.

Daniel Dawling was born in New York, in 1813, and came to Ohio in 1835, locating in this township. In 1835 he married Emily Woodward, who was born in New York but came to Ohio when two years old, in 1815. She died August 26, 1870, leaving five children, viz: Zerruah, wife of H. J. Potter, Ballville; Susan O., wife of Jeremiah Wolf, Green Creek; Martha M., wife of Amon Kelsey, Ballville; Emily, wife of J. W. Knapp, Riley township; and Frances, wife of U. H. Palmer, of Lorain county. Mr. Dawley married for his second wife Mrs. Martha (Ball) Gale. Mrs. Dawley had two children by a former marriage — Charles J. Higgins, residing in Kansas, and Adelia Higgins, deceased.

Elisha Dawley was born in Montgomery county, New York, in 1815. In 1839 he came to Ohio and settled on the farm on which he now resides. In 1843 he married Sallie Brush, who has borne him six children, viz: Charles, in Green Creek; Armida(Thraves), Ballville; Mary (Moore), Wood county; Emeretta (Meggit), Green Creek; Randolph, Ballville, and Elmer, Green Creek. Mr. Dawley in New York engaged in the manufacture of gloves and mittens.

George T. Dana was born in Pembrook, Western New York, in 1829. With his parents, Daniel H. and Philinda Dana, he came to Sandusky county, where his home has been ever since. Mr. Dana remained at home and worked in his father's mill at Green Spring until he began business for himself. He was engaged in stock buying a number of years with Mr. Crockett; afterwards was employed in the same business at Bellevue for three years by Chapman & Woodward. He next managed the grain warehouse of Mr. Woodward at Clyde one year. From 1862 until 1876 Mr. Dana was engaged in the lumber business in Fremont with N. C. West. Since that time he has been living upon his farm three miles east of Fremont. Mr. Dana was married in November, 1868, to Miss Sophia Abies, of Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. They have three children living, one deceased. The names are as follows: Philinda H., Grace T., Marion (deceased), and Amanda C. Mr. Dana is a Republican. He was census enumerator in 1880.

George Hutchins was born in Onondaga county, New York, May 5, 1811. He married, in 1833, Matilda Anthony, and in 1836 came to Sandusky county, Ohio. Three children by his first wife are living — Willet, in this county; Maria (Bush), in Nebraska; and Francis M., in Green Creek. He married for his second wife Annie Huss. One child is living, Ellen (Phillips), in Colorado. For his third wife Mr. Hutchins married Sarah V. Brumley, by whom he has six children living, viz: Eveline (Upton), Clara, George, Flora, Robert, and Ida J. Mr. Hutchins served as township trustee several terms.

Joel Moore was born in New Jersey in 1825. Three years later his father removed to Trumbull county, Ohio, and in 1839 to Sandusky county. Joel Moore, who resides upon the farm on which his father settled, married Mahala Reed, of Knox county. Three children by this marriage are living — Milton, Isaac, and Robert. Mr. Moore married for his second wife Mary Dice, by whom he has five children, viz: John J., Alice, Laura, Cora, and Jennie. When the Moore family settled in this township only one acre was cleared on the tract which is now known as the Moore homestead.

W. C. Lefever, a son of John Lefever, was born in this township in 1836. In 1866 he married Lizzie Mackey, a native of Ross county. Mr. Lefever taught school in Missouri before the war. He entered the army as private, and was mustered out with the rank of lieutenant-colonel.

J. D. Lefever was born in this township in 1838. In 1865 he married Cornelia Lay. Mr. Lefever served during the war about three years in the Seventy-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry.

Jonathan Spohn was born m Perry county, Ohio, January 10, 1822. He came to Sandusky county in 1843. In 1844 he married Elizabeth Brunthaver. Three children are living and one dead — Adam, Jacob A., and Mary E., all live in this county; Francis M. died at the age of eighteen. Mr. Spohn worked at blacksmithing some time, but has been farming a number of years. He has a good farm of seventy-six acres, situated on the turn-pike, two miles east of Fremont. Mr. Spohn is a Democrat in politics, and belongs to the Lutheran church.

Benjamin Colwell was born at Poolville, New York, in 1810. In 1829 he came to Ohio, stopping first in Seneca county. He then removed to Huron county, and from there to York township, this county, where he resided five years. In 1849 he removed to Green Creek township, which has been his home since that time. He married, in 1830, Lydia Philo. Two children are living — Sarah (French) and Frank E., both in this township. William E. died in the army, having been a member of the Seventy-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry; John, the second child, died when fourteen years old. Mr. Colwell engaged in the merchant tailoring business in Clyde for three years. Joseph and Mary Philo came to this county with Mr. Colwell and lived here until their decease.

William Hughes, a native of Philadelphia, died in 1875, aged about seventy-three. He married Mary Ann Ramsey, by whom he had a family of eight children, four of whom are living — James, C. J., Melvina E. (Spade), and George. Mrs. Hughes came to Ohio from Pennsylvania, where she was born, with her parents, Charles and Sarah (Hughes) Ramsey. There were four children in this family, who are still living, Mrs. Hughes being the oldest. Her parents first settled in Ohio in Columbiana county, and moved to Sandusky county in 1830.

Daniel Pocock was born in Baltimore county, Maryland, in 1813. Five years later his father came to Ohio and settled near Canal Dover, in Tuscarawas county. In 1834 he married Elizabeth Malone, by whom he had twelve children, five of whom are living — Levi and Elias in Green Creek township; Mary Ann (Walters), in Indiana; Elijah in Riley, and George in Green Creek. His first wife having died he married Rebecca Pocock, and has four children — Eliza J., Ruth E., Daniel I., and Eve A. Mr. Pocock settled in this township in 1845.

Sidney Tuck was born in Wayne county. New York. In 1835 he settled on Butternut Ridge, in Seneca, with his parents, John and Eunice Tuck. The same year he introduced the first steam threshing machine ever in this part of the State. In 1851 Mr. Tuck married Lydia Lee, a native of Seneca county. Their family consists of three children — Elva (Colwell), Ward, and Harry. Mr. Tuck carried on wagon-making and farming. He died June 29, 18S0, aged sixty-two years.

Alexander Kernahan, a native of Ireland, settled in this county in 1854. He died June 3, 1876, aged seventy-five years. His widow, Mrs. Hannah Kernahan, is still living. She is the mother of three children, who are living — James, Eliza, and Ambrose, all residents of Green Creek. James Kernahan was born April 11, 1830, in Onondaga county, New York. Eliza Kernahan was born in the same locality January 7, 1832. Ambrose Kernahan was born in Livingston county, New York, July 19, 1836. He married Elizabeth McKinney, a native of that county.

Constantine Meyer was born in Germany in 1836. He settled in this county in 1854. In 1858 he married Barbara Schreiner, who bore four children — Ezra, Caroline, Ida, and Clara, all living. For his second wife he married Sarah Schupert, who bore four children — Rawley (deceased), Frank, Wesley, and Lilly. His third wife was Margaret Schuster, with whom he is now living. She has one child — Gertie.

Richard E. Betts was born in Cayuga county. New York, in 1829. His parents were Zachariah and Maria Betts. In 1834 Richard came to Ohio with them. They located in Seneca county. In 1852 Mr. Betts was married to Lavinia Donaldson, daughter of George and Ann Donaldson from Pennsylvania. Her parents came to Ohio at an early date; lived in Pickaway county, then in Seneca county, and, in 1833, moved to this county and township. Three of their nine children are living, Mis. Betts being the oldest. Susanna (Dixon) and Samuel Donaldson reside in Indiana. Mr. Donaldson followed black-smithing many years.

John Steffey came to Ohio when quite a young man. He married Eve Pocock and has a family of seven children — Christina (Vice), Michigan; Sarah (Stokes) and Catharine (Miller), Riley township; Calvin and Edward, Green Creek; Levi, Riley township, and Mary Ann (Wykoff), Toledo. Calvin married Emily Gilbert and has four children living— Jesse, W. W., and Allen and Ellen (twins).


The inhabitants of this township were at first wholly dependent upon the mill on Cold Creek for flour. The slow process of grinding made it extremely inconvenient, and sometimes caused actual suffering, for the consumption of breadstuffs was faster than the simple machinery of this pioneer mill could produce them. It was, therefore, a great relief to the inhabitants of Green Creek, particularly those living in the western part, to have a mill in their own neighborhood.

Sometime between 1821 and 1823 Josiah Rumery built a dam on Green Creek, and with a small buhr began grinding wheat and corn. Customers were compelled to assist at bolting their own flour, as that part of the work at that time had to be done with hand bolts. The flour, in a sanitary point of view, was better than that produced by modern mills, The coarse bolts removed only the useless hull, leaving the hard but nutritious substance of the grain in the flour. Bread made of this flour was rougher but had more of the muscle-producing elements in it. Mr. Rumery removed from Green Creek about 1830, his mill by that time having become inadequate to the necessities of the increasing population.

Another mill was built on Green Creek further down by Mr. Emerson about 1825, but was used as a saw-mill only until Mr. Wilks purchased the site. He attached a grist-mill, which was in operation until 1852, when the building of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad necessitated its removal.

Jacob Stine built a mill on the east branch of Green Creek in 1836, which is still in operation.


Mr. Kneeland Harnden has established a successful industry — that of ice-packing. He began packing this agreeable summer luxury in the winter of 1875. In the winter of 1880-81 he stored away about two thousand tons. Mr. Harnden was born in Ruggles township, Huron county, in 1841, and in 1849 came to Sandusky county with his father's family. In 1865 he married Hattie Fuller. The fruit of this union was two children — Minnie and John.

The largest saw-mill in the township is owned by Walter Huber. It was formerly owned by Huber & Ellsworth, and has been in operation since 1873. The capacity of this mill is sixteen hundred feet per day. The proprietor was born in this county and has lived here nearly all his life. He married, in 1866, Emeline Young, by whom he has a family of four children, viz: Ida, Vernon, Edith, and Floyd. Mr. Huber built in 1881 the largest, and perhaps the finest farm-house in the township.


No animal is more annoying to the pioneers of a country than wolves. The bear is stronger and more dangerous when met, but with the first sound of the woodman's axe he emigrates to the wild seclusion for which his nature yearns. He never seeks the destroyer of his home, and only meets him when retreat is impossible. But howling wolves prowl about seeking what they may devour. Fifty years ago sheep, pigs, and young cattle were not safe, even within the cabin door-yard. There is not a county in Ohio which at some period of the settlement did not pay a bounty for the scalps of these camp followers of the army of the wilderness, whose peculiar business it seems to have been to obstruct the march of improvement by doleful howling and nocturnal depredations. The record of their presence and conduct is found in the commissioners' journal in every court-house, whether among the hills or in the flat country. The Black Swamp was no exception. An incident is told which indicates that in this neighborhood they became even more bold and daring than their character would lead us to expect. Romance writers have given startling descriptions of wolves attacking grown men, and an actual occurrence in this locality proves that these writers' fictions have been limited to the realm of possibility.

Mr. John Lay, about 1833, set out one evening on a hunt for his cows, which had straggled off far into the thick woods of the northern part of Thompson township and did not return. He wandered along narrow paths, his attention being so wholly occupied with the object of his search that the decline of the sun was not noticed, and darkness coming on unexpectedly found him a considerable distance from any settler's cabin and several miles from home. To retrace his steps seemed the only intelligent course of action. But while standing a moment trying to comprehend the situation, the distant howl of a wolf sent whirling his meditations. An echo seemed to come from the other side, then another and another, till the dark air quivered with dismal, doleful barking. The howling grew louder and more savage. Shortly, stealthy steps and the shaking of bushes became discernible amid the general noise. The benighted farmer, armed only with a strong club, stood his ground, determined, to fight, until there gleamed through the underbrush seemingly two balls of fire, illuminating a scarlet tongue and uncovered tusks. Fright banished the resolve to fight, and the central figure of our picture made industrious progress toward the top of a small tree. By the time he had obtained safe footing among the branches, the hungry beasts were running and jumping to and fro beneath, snarling and gnashing their teeth. Night progressed. The besieging beasts, whose horrid confusion of noises gradually died into a low, dreary cry, one by one stole mournfully away in search of other prey.

The man in the tree found an easy resting place between two spreading branches, and, overcome by fatigue, a deep sleep buried in oblivion all the varying emotions caused by the singular evening's experience. But the place proved an unsafe couch. An unconscious turn restored consciousness to the body, which fell prostrate on the ground. The fall resulted seriously. One leg was broken and his body considerably bruised. He was unable to move, and no cabin was within hearing distance. Patiently he lay, suffering the most excruciating tortures for nearly twelve hours, until his sons, who, having become alarmed by his prolonged absence were making search, found him, wholly exhausted.


The county commissioners resolved, at their March session, 1822, to establish the fourth township of the sixteenth range a town corporate. Josiah Rumery, then auditor of the county, issued the following notice:

Notice is hereby given to the qualified electors of township four, range sixteen, known as Green Creek, to meet the first Monday of April, 1822, at the house of Samuel Baker, and there proceed to elect between the hours of ten and four of said day, township officers as the law directs in such cases made and provided.

Auditor's Office, March 9, 1822.
By order of the commissioners,
Josiah Rumery.

The town meeting system was then yet in vogue. The electors assembled at the house designated. John Pumphrey, Samuel Kepler, and Samuel Baker were appointed to act as judges. No party spirit divided the assembly, and no candidates appeared on the field. Nothing in modern politics so nearly approaches one of these old town meetings as a county convention of a party hopelessly in the minority. No one desires to be distinguished above his fellows, and all are anxious that perfect harmony should prevail. The votes show almost entire unanimity. At this first election Jered H. Miner and George Hines acted as clerks. For treasurer, Silas Dewey received seventeen votes; for trustees, Josiah Rumery received sixteen; Samuel Pogue, seventeen; and Samuel Baker, fifteen votes Benjamin Collins received fourteen to Joseph Baits one, for constable. Joshua Fairchild and Samuel McMillen received fourteen and thirteen votes respectively for overseers of the poor. For appraiser of properly, Samuel Baker received thirteen votes; Samuel Pogue, fifteen: and Samuel McMillen, one. For lister, Samuel Baker had thirteen votes. Jonathan Rathbun and Samuel Uttley were chosen fence-viewers. Jered H. Miner had all the votes except his own for clerk. The vote for supervisors stood: Benjamin Collins, eleven; Samuel Uttley, seven; Josiah Rumery, one; and Jonathan Rathbun, three. It appears, from the number of votes some of those present received, that modesty did not prevent them from voting for themselves.

The first justice of the peace was Jered H. Miner. He was the learned man of the early settlement and the selection was entirely proper. This office in some localities might be exalted by more care as to the quality of talent selected to fill it.

The first township charge to pass from; poor existence was Joseph Baits, who died at Baker's tavern. Bills were allowed as follows:

To Samuel Baker, for taking care of Joseph Baits, three dollars and fifty cents, and for boards for coffin. To Abigail Worlley, four dollars for shirt and sheet, and attendance. Amos Fenn, for furnishing coffin, two dollars and fifty cents; and to Jonathan Forbes, M. D., two dollars and ninety-six cents for treating the said Baits; James Guinall, seventy-five cents for nursing; Prudence Benton, same; Polly McMillen, thirty-two cents for washing.

The first list of jurors returned were: Grand Jurors — Albert Guinall, James Guinall, Samuel S. Baker, Joshua Woodard, Jonathan Rathbun, John Harris. Petit Jurors — Roswell Merrell, John J. Quackenbush, Samuel Pogue, Jered H. Miner, Moses Cleveland.


A citizens' meeting was held July 23, 1870, in pursuance of a call issued by a number of citizens for the purpose of instituting an agricultural fair, independent of the county agricultural association. A constitution was adopted and board of directors appointed as follows: C. G. Sanford, Lyman Miller, David Beard, John Whitmore, George Mugg, Humphrey Whitman, David Neikirk. Charles Bell, Alfred Stibbins, Darwin Groves, J. W. Payne, M. Sanford, O. J. Stultz, and S. V. Hume. A. Throp was chosen president; S. H. Rhodes, secretary; and J. T. Chapman, treasurer.

Sixteen and one-half acres of land were purchased by the board of directors for fair grounds, and preparations at once commenced for the first annual exhibition. Articles of incorporation were filed and recorded July 28, 1870, by J. M. Lemmon, A. B. French, W, H. Bacon, Henry Nichols, B. Meek, R. F. Patrick, W. W. White, T. W. Reed, and S. H. Rhodes. The articles declared that the object of the association shall be to encourage and promote agriculture, stock-raising, and mechanical and industrial pursuits, and to hold annual fairs for the exhibition of stock and agricultural productions.

The capital stock was fixed at one hundred shares at ten dollars each.

The exhibitions at Clyde have uniformly been well patronized, and the eleven years of the existence of the association prove the enterprise a success, not so much financially, as in the end for which it was established.


The first resident physician of Green Creek township was Dr. Forbes, who located near the corners as early as 1822. He was also a school teacher. As a physician he possessed the confidence of most of the early settlers and was universally well liked as a teacher and a man. Death did not spare him long to the settlement.

The next physician was Dr. Henry Niles, who was a graduate of Dartmouth college. He came to Hamer's Corners in June, 1833, and gave his exclusive attention to practice for two years. He then removed to a farm on the county line of Seneca and Sandusky, where he continued to practice for a number of years. He died in 1864.

Dr. William G. Harkness was educated in Salem county, New York, and began practice in Cayuga county, where he remained twenty-five years, and then came to Ohio in 1833, settling at Hamer's Corners, where he practiced until his death.

Dr. Seely came from Medina to Hamer's Corners about 1840. He continued practice most of the time until his death, in 1867. Most of his patients remember him.

Charles G. Eaton commenced the practice of medicine in Athens county, Ohio, in 1849. After two years he removed to West Virginia, where he remained until 1853, when he came to Clyde and soon won the confidence of the people by his skill in physic. Except during the four years spent in the war, he was in active practice until his death, which occurred in 1875. A biography of him will be found in this volume.

Dr. Treadway was a man of learning, and had the true instincts of a physician. He came to Clyde from Kentucky, and had it not been for his suggestion the village would be called Hamerville, Middletown, or some other common name. He remained in practice here but a short time.

J. W. Luse was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania; attended medical lectures at Ann Arbor, Michigan, and at Cleveland, Ohio. He began practicing in Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, in 1854. In 1857 he came to Clyde and has been in full practice ever since. At several different times he has been connected with the drug trade here.

Doctors Price, Leet, and Decker each practiced in Clyde, but remained only a few years.

W. V. Stilson was born in Trumbull county, Ohio, in 1815. He studied medicine in Wayne county, Ohio, and graduated at Cincinnati Medical College. He practiced a short time in Ashland county, then came to Bellevue in 1842, where he had a full practice for thirty years. In 1872 he removed to Clyde. He married, in Ashland county, Elizabeth Cummings.

Corwin Griffin was born in Huron county in 1845. He entered Pulte Medical College, Cincinnati, in 1873, and received the degree of M. D. in 1876. He began practice in Clyde, and possesses a fair share of public confidence. He is the only graduate of the Homoeopathic school, in Clyde.

Dr. Brown removed from Tiffin to Clyde in 1875. He was surgeon for the One Hundred and Eighth Ohio Volunteer Infantry.

Mrs. Owens and Messrs. Harndon, Robinson, and Soper are the remaining physicians now in practice.


Beneath those rugged elms, that yew tree's shade,
Where heaves the turf in many a mouldering heap,
Each in his narrow cell forever laid.
The rude forefathers of our hamlet sleep.

— Gray's Elegy.

Imperishable marble is the fit emblem of that love which survives all that is mortal of friends and relatives, that love which is the noblest attribute of the soul. There is something, too, in the unchanging features of the country to perpetuate the memory of friends who gave animation to every lonely scene. The grave seen from our dooryard, or passed in a lonely walk or drive, arrests our planning and softens the mind to pensive meditation. A wound is kept open, it is true, but it is a wound from which flows sanctifying sorrow. We plant flowers to sweeten the grave, and trees to protect the gentle tear of recollection.

The cemetery at Clyde is fast becoming all that the most loving heart could wish. Public-spirited citizens have supplemented nature's generosity, and the place charms the eye and nurtures the affections.

The old burying ground lay to the north and reached to the foot of the elevation on which the statue of General McPherson stands. It was formerly owned by the Methodist Episcopal church, and bore the name of Evergreen Cemetery. The site was selected by Mrs. Guinall who, during a supposed fatal sickness, pointed to the spot where she wished to be buried, from the chair on which she was carried to the door for that purpose. The lot was fenced off by her husband, who owned the land, but she was not the first to be buried there. She recovered and was a witness of the burial of her son John in the place selected for her own grave. Mrs. John J. Quackenbush and Benjamin Collins were the two next buried.

Many moss-covered freestones mark the last resting places of pioneers of this township — places of sacred and hallowed memory. It became necessary, as the village grew and the death roll became longer, to enlarge the boundaries. A cemetery association was formed in 1867, and Evergreen Cemetery transferred to this association by the Methodist church. Lands adjacent, extending to the junction of the two streets, were purchased and the lot on the summit of the beautiful natural mound dedicated to the McPherson family, in affectionate remembrance of that noble soldier and cherished fellow citizen. Major General James B. McPherson, whose statue, cast in imperishable bronze, testifies a grateful people's love, and symbolizes the immortality of his fame.


The first school in the township was taught by Joshua Fairchilds. Jered H. Miner, esq., taught school in 1820 in a cooper shop owned by Abby & Dagget, which stood on the present Persing place. Here the children were gathered, five days in the week, for three months. The only seats were split slabs or puncheons, without backs. A large slab was placed along one side for a writing desk. Reading, writing, and the elements of arithmetic were taught. The "rule of three" was the stopping point for the pupils of that early day.

In the course of a couple of years a school-house was built on what is now Buckeye street. Dr. Forbes, an amiable, learned man, was the first teacher, in the winter of 1822-23. There was great dissatisfaction with the location of the house. The settlers of the east part of the neighborhood clamored for a school in their vicinity, while those of the west were just as determined to in theirs. In 1825 a house was built near the Corners, much to the dissatisfaction of the hill residents, and the cause of a fire which destroyed the building a short time afterwards was not regarded a mystery. A compromise was made in the location of a new house. It was built near the site of the railroad crossing, but was after a short time moved to the knoll within a few rods of the burial place of General McPherson. This was the last log school-house in Clyde, or at Hamer's Corners, as it was then. Here James D. McPherson, whose statue is the pride of the town and county, received his first instruction.

After the township was divided into districts under the general school law, a frame house was built a quarter mile further west, on the hill, which was known as the Dewey school-house.

The first school in the west part of the township was taught by Grant Forgerson, in a school-house which stood a short distance west of the Rathbun place.

The public school law of 1852 went into effect in Green Creek in 1853, since which time comfortable houses have been built, and generally competent teachers provided for the instruction of the youth.


The rapid growth of Clyde during the years following the war made it desirable that a special school district should be organized. The necessary legislation was procured, and on April 8, 1867, the Clyde schools became independent of the township. The new board consisted of A. B. French, Chester Hunter, and C. G. Eaton. The village system was adopted May 30, 1868, with the following named gentlemen as directors: M. Benner, John Lefever, Milo Hunter, D. Terrill, S. B. Taylor, and Smith Motley. The salary of the superintendent was fixed at one hundred dollars per month, and S. Motley was elected to the position. He served in that capacity until 1870, when the present incumbent; F. M. Ginn, was chosen.

The subject of a new school building was discussed by the citizens as soon as the village system had been adopted. In 1869 plans were submitted, and a new building decided upon. The large and well-arranged three-story brick structure now in use was completed in 1870, and in the fall of that year opened to the public. Schools began with the following corps of teachers: F. M. Ginn, superintendent; Rena Richards, principal of the high school; Jennie Winters, assistant; Mary BeMuent, grammar; Miss Emma Adams, first secondary; Nettie Reynolds, second secondary; Julia Eaton, first primary; Alice Keating, second primary; Nettie Van Cleat, intermediate. The principals of the high school have been: Rena Richards, Eliza Bushnell, Miss Hitchcock, Anna Kuhn, Miss Barnaby (five years), Maggie Taggart, Nellie McDonald. The assistants in the new building have been: Edgar Barnett, Emma Taylor, Miss A. L. Snyder, and Emma Londy.

Professor Ginn, the superintendent for the past eleven years, is deserving of much credit for his efficient management of the schools. The board gave it to his hands entire control over all departments. The present condition of the schools shows the wisdom of the board in thus selecting a competent head and then abstaining from officiousness.

There were, in 1870, four hundred and twenty-five pupils. The enrollment of the year 1880-81 reached six hundred and sixty-one.

Regular courses of study were arranged for all departments in 1870. The aim is to prepare pupils for any of the ordinary callings of business; in other words, to provide a good English education. In the high school, English language and literature is taught during the whole four years of the course. Students are taken through the elements of trigonometry, and given a knowledge of the elements of general science.

The first class which completed the course — the class of 1874 — numbered four; 1875, eleven; 1876, seven; 1877, nine; 1878, ten; 1879, fifteen; 1880, ten; 1881, nine; whole number of graduates seventy-five, of whom twenty-five were boys. Few schools can show so large a proportion of male graduates.

Primary and secondary teachers have received twenty-five dollars per month. Miss Barnaby received sixty dollars per month. The salary of the principal is now fifty dollars per month. The superintendent received, in 1870-71, one thousand dollars; 1871-73, twelve hundred dollars; 1873-77, fourteen hundred dollars, since which time the salary has been twelve hundred dollars.


The first sermon preached to white people, so far as is known, within this township, was delivered by a colored man, whose name tradition has not preserved. This religious enthusiast gathered together as many as he could, and that was nearly all who lived in the settlement. His violent manner, linguistic gymnastics, and novel system of doctrine naturally caused amusement, and sometimes provoked laughter. His glowing description of the place of eternal punishment was received with provoking ridicule, which caused the preacher to burst forth with the remark: “You white folks a’ afraid to go to heaven 'cause ye 'magin thar be niggers thar; but I tell you dar be niggers in de hot place too!" It is unnecessary to state that no conversions resulted from this man's preaching.

The credit of organizing religious worship is due here, as in most pioneer communities, to the itinerant clergy of the Methodist church. Some of the early settlers were Baptists, and, at a later period, Universalists obtained a foothold.


Methodism was organized in this part of the county in the spring of 1821. The country being sparsely populated no regular stations were established, but large districts of country organized into circuits. Lower Sandusky district embraced the whole county. The class in this neighborhood was organized by Rev. Mr. Boardman, in the spring of 1821, composed of six members — Samuel McMillen and wife, James Guinall and wife, and Albert Guinall and wife. These three families, together with a few who were not members but were interested in seeing public worship instituted, met in a log school-house near where the Cleveland, Sandusky & Cincinnati railroad crosses Main street. The preacher, whose circuit was large, could visit this backwoods post but once in four weeks, and then generally on week days, his Sundays being occupied elsewhere. Samuel McMillen was the class leader. He held prayer meetings and praise meetings. He never accepted a license as a local preacher, but performed the duties of that office — how well, the prosperity of this little society of Christians shows. In 1825 there was an especial and important awakening. The whole settlement became interested in the meetings, and several joined the church; among the number, Amos Fenn, who became a local preacher, and was to the end of his long life a faithful member and earnest worker. In 1827 occurred a revival which brought into the church about twenty-five new members, among whom were the three oldest of the present members — Norton Russel, his wife, and Mrs. McPherson. Mr. Russel was the first convert. This revival extended throughout the circuit. Prayer meetings were held every night and each church enjoyed preaching once every two weeks, the circuit preachers — Adam. Poe and John Hazzard — and Presiding Elder McMahon dividing up their time among the several classes.

But it is too often the case that rest, profound sleep, follows a season of activity and exhaustive effort. A church needs more than a start; it needs the watchful care of an intelligent clergy. As soon as the protracted effort had ceased the visits of the circuit preachers were few and irregular. The local ministry and a few old members were depended upon to carry on the work. They labored zealously and did all that time would permit and talent could do. Meetings after a time were attended only by the "faithful few," but their faith did not permit discouragement. The clouds began to hang dark. Years had passed with but few additions, while death and emigration was constantly reducing the number. A brighter day came in 1844. An especial interest was created among the young people. It was during this revival that James B. McPherson joined the church.

Preaching was held semi-monthly after this revival. The old school-house became unfit for use, and the Dewey school-house was occupied. In 1851 it was decided to build a church. Mr. Norton Russel canvassed Green Creek, Townsend and York townships for money. Jonathan Ames donated a lot, and a contract for building was let to William Weeks by Amos Fenn, Norton Russel, M. Persing and others. George Eaton was at that time a preacher in charge, but his health failed before the completion of the building, and Alfred Wheeler supplied the pulpit. In December, 1852, Presiding Elder Disbrow preached the dedicatory sermon, at which time four hundred dollars were raised. This amount freed the society from the debt incurred by building. The cost of this house was fifteen hundred and thirty dollars. Meetings continued several weeks, and many were added to the membership. Sabbath-school under the superintendence of Mr. Weeks, was continued for the first time through the winter. In the winter of 1853-54 thirty united with the church under the pastorate of Messrs. Pelton and Vertican.

In 1856 Revs. E. Y. Warner and Mr. McKane were stationed at Clyde, as the charge was now called. During their pastorate the church increased in numbers. Revs. Castle and Thompson occupied the pastorate till 1859. In 1859 Revs. Halderman and Barker were appointed; in 1860 Wilson, and Sites in 1861. The circuit had previously embraced the classes in the eastern part of Sandusky and western part of Huron and Erie counties. In 1862 it was reduced to three appointments — Clyde, Green Spring and Townsend. Rev. Mr. Barker was pastor in 1862. Rev. Mr. Jones, in 1863, remained six months, and enlisted in the army. Rev. Mr. McKillips being appointed supply. During this time protracted efforts were made every winter, and the membership steadily increased. In 1864 Rev. J. T. Broadwell became pastor. The largest revival in the history of the church followed. The membership increased, and the house no longer accommodated the congregations attracted by eloquent sermons. In 1866 the official board resolved upon building a new house of worship. As is not uncommonly the case in enterprises of this character, land was purchased, and contracts let without carefully estimating the cost or knowing the resources. The handsome edifice on the corner of George and Buckeye streets was so far completed by February, 1867, that the basement was ready for occupancy. In August, 1867, the house was formally dedicated by Rev. Dr. Donaldson. The spire and gallery remained to be built. Thirty-seven hundred dollars were subscribed at the dedication service, and the announcement was made that no debt remained, but an examination of accounts and subscriptions in 1868 showed an indebtedness of eight thousand dollars which was refunded at a high rate of interest. A brief summary of how this debt was paid may not be amiss. It is only one of many instances of costly edifices burdening societies, and really injuring the cause which it was the intention to promote, and for which generous members were willing to make sacrifices, but under pressure of forced assessments became indifferent and discouraged. When W. S. Paul became pastor, he took hold of the debt question in a businesslike way. A committee of inspection was appointed, which found the debt to be nearly eight thousand dollars, and the annual interest nearly eight hundred dollars. Through his influence a loan was negotiated in 1870 for six thousand dollars to be paid in annual installments, without interest. Before the close of Mr. Paul's pastorate of three years, the debt had been reduced to less than seven thousand dollars, very little of which was bearing interest. Dr. Hartupee succeeded Mr. Wright to the pastorate, and applied himself to the reduction of the debt, but in December, 1871, the great storm so damaged the building that twenty-eight hundred dollars were required for repairs. The debt increased this year six hundred dollars. A re-opening service was held in May, 1873, Bishop Bowman preaching. On this occasion forty-eight hundred dollars were subscribed, which with notes and previous subscriptions, was thought a sufficient amount to cancel the debt. During the pastorate of Dr. S. L. Yourtee only six hundred dollars were raised. The subscriptions taken on the "Re-opening Day" for some unaccountable reason, had lost their value. In 1875 Rev. J. H. Mendenhall, on assuming the pastorate, found a debt of four thousand dollars with no resources to meet it. Mr. Mendenhall deserves the highest praise for his zeal, and credit for his talents displayed during his pastorate. Before the close of the second year the burden which had oppressed the congregation, and stifled its work, was removed. The members and citizens of Clyde are also to be commended for their liberality. About forty-five hundred dollars were subscribed and paid within eighteen months.

The pastors, succeeding Mr. Warner, were: W. S. Paul in 1868; B. Wright in 1871 (to fill the unexpired term of Mr. Paul; J. H. Hartupee in 1871; S. L. Yourtee in 1874; J. H. Mendenhall in 1875; W. H. Painter in 1878.

In 1869 Clyde was made a station, and the other classes constituted a circuit known as "Green Spring."

The membership of the church has constantly been increasing since 1844. An interesting Sunday-school has been maintained throughout the year since 1851. A ladies' society was organized in 1865, which has been instrumental in raising funds for the church.


George R. Brown was the founder of Universalism in this part of the county. Nathan Birdseye and Mr. Holbrook, of Townsend, were among the more prominent members. Mr. Brown came to Hamer's Corners about 1833, and was engaged to teach the school, which position he filled acceptably during two winters. He then left for a short time, but returned in 1835 and married Jane Pogue, a daughter of Samuel Pogue, and lived here until his death, in 1873. He had a strong mind and was well informed. Few men could cope with him. He met several Methodist clergymen on the rostrum. The result of the debates was the gradual increase of adherents to the doctrine of Uuiversalism. The society which he formed built the second church at Clyde, which was for many years the most influential religious association in the place. The meeting-house stood on what has since become Main street, but the growth of the town made the site desirable for business, and the building was removed to its present location. The society was supplied occasionally by other ministers, but Elder Brown was the main stand-by, as affairs since his death have proved. The membership was largest about 1860, embracing many of the leading citizens. No regular service has been held for a number of years, but the organization yet maintains its existence.


In 1854 Rev. Father Waist visited Clyde and held the first mass. There were at that time but few Catholics. in the township, and they were recent arrivals, being induced to make settlement by the employment the railroad opened up. The service for the first few years was held in the residences of the members. Fathers Rose, Mellon, and Peters, came over from Fremont and held services in the same way. The two last named commenced the erection of a church building, which was completed by Father Monaghan. The property was enlarged by the addition of two more lots by Father Mahony, of Bellevue. These three lots, embracing church and burying-ground, are located at the corner of Spring and Vine streets. He was succeeded by Father Means, in July, 1872. Father Bowles was the first resident pastor. The present parsonage was purchased by him. Up to this time all the preaching was in English, but in 1875, when Father Rudolph became pastor, both German and English worship were used, and the congregation grew rapidly until 1879, when Father Nunan became pastor. The pastorate became vacant in 1881, J. C. Cahill acting as supply. Two-thirds of the membership is Irish, the other third German.


There were a few Baptists among the early settlers of the township. Jered H. Miner, esq., had meetings at his house occasionally, and Elder Throp sometimes exhorted. Missionaries held services at irregular intervals, and in 1857 the house of worship which is yet in use was built. The first organization into a congregation was effected April 9, 1859, at which time L. D. Caulkins was chosen clerk, Gideon Palmer, Lyman Ames, and George N. Thornton, trustees. Anson Ames was also a member at this time. Joseph Jackson was chosen pastor, a choice which, at that time, was particularly unfortunate. Mr. Jackson was a man of radical opinions, and did not hesitate to propound abolition doctrine in the pulpit. Political feeling being at its height, his preaching caused dissension, and some of the members withdrew. A debt of one thousand six hundred dollars remained on the church building, which was an additional embarrassment. Services were irregularly held by supplies. In the winter of 1860 a revival was held, which resulted in three accessions to the membership. O. L. Ames, who has since been a member, joined at that meeting. Measures were at once taken to pay off the debt and reestablish the congregation on a solid foundation. In August, 1864, a pastor was called — Rev. Adam Snyder. He was a strong preacher, and attracted large congregations. In May, 1866, Rev. W. E. Ryon became pastor, and served the church with success about four years. In January, 1867, a revival was commenced, which continued three months and resulted in seventy-five conversions. The church was now on a solid foundation and able to stand alone. Missionary aid was no longer necessary, and the contributions previously received have long since been repaid. During the remaining years of his ministry the membership grew steadily, revivals being held each winter. Rev. J. T. Shepard succeeded to the pastorate, and remained between one and two years. Rev. J. V. K. Seely assumed charge in November, 1872, and during his term of five years service added about forty to the membership. Twenty additions was the result of a special revival in 1873, conducted by Rev. Van Buskirk. In 1878 Mr. Fernald became pastor, and remained two years. The greatest revival in the history of the church was held during this pastorate by an evangelist, Rev. W. H. Hurlbut. More than one hundred were converted, and eighty-four joined the church. Rev. J. L. Phillips was installed pastor in August, 1880. Seventeen have been added to the membership since that time. The present membership is about two hundred.

The Sunday-school work of this church has been made a special feature. A Sunday-school was organized in April, 1865, C. W. Page, superintendent. O. L. Ames became superintendent in 1867, and has serviced with commendatory success since that time. More than a hundred of the members of this school have been brought into the church. The average attendance is about one hundred and fifty.


Among the early settlers of the east part of the county were a few Presbyterian and Congregational families from New York and New England. For some years they maintained their own form of worship by family instruction and attending the church of their choice in the neighboring towns. But the natural desire for regular service, and the difficulty of attending at distant points, induced some to unite with the churches of other denominations, while others became indifferent. The few who remained attached to the doctrines of their fathers entertained the idea of establishing a church of their own, but the prospect looked doubtful for many years. Now and then they met together, at long intervals, until Rev. E. Bushnell, D. D., of Fremont, took the matter in charge and gave them more frequent services. Encouraged by him a meeting was called and a congregation organized in the Baptist meeting-house in Clyde, April 6, 1867, Dr. Bushnell, of Fremont, and George H. Fullerton, of Huron, being present. At that meeting the following persons were received as members: J. W. Fuse, M. D., Mrs. E. C. Fuse, Hiram Vincent, Adam Dunlap, Mrs. Kate B. Dunlap, Mrs. Margaret Fuse, Mrs. Emily Fletcher, Mrs. Jane Throp, Mrs. C. Loveland, George B. Fuller, and Mrs. Alcena Ellsworth. The first regular service of the church was held on the following day, conducted by Mr. Bushnell, who preached and administered the sacrament. This first service was solemn and impressive, and is remembered by those present. Rev. J. B. Smith was the first minister chosen. He preached at stated intervals for two years. During this time a prayer meeting service was instituted, and a number of new members added to the church. In 1869 D. W. Marvin succeeded to the pastorate, and in the winter of that year initiatory steps were taken toward the building of a house of worship. The membership at this time numbered thirty-six. By reaching their charitable hands deep into their pockets and with the assistance of the Presbyterian board of church erection, a comfortable brick house was erected which was dedicated January 30, 1870. A Sabbath-school was organized about this time. From the organization to the present the growth of this church in members and influence has been gradual.

In 1871 E. R. Chase, then a student of the Theological Seminary at Chicago, accepted a call to the pastorate, and was ordained here in June of that year. In April of the following year he was regularly installed pastor.

Elder H. Vincent and wife, two of the most earnest and useful members of the church, were killed by a railroad accident, November 29, 1871. The church in their death sustained a sad loss. David E. Hayes and A. J. Wilder were added to the eldership in 1872. The church was greatly strengthened by a revival in the winter of 1873. On April 6th of that year, twenty-seven were received into the church. Mr. Chase was a young man beloved by all. The church prospered under his care, but he was not long spared to his labor. A disease of the lungs, contracted in the army, brought him to the grave May 25, 1874.

Rev. A. M. Meili, formerly a priest in the Roman Catholic church, was elected to the pastorate in March, 1875. During the following year troubles of a serious character arose, growing partly out of personal difficulties and partly out of an effort of the session to enforce stricter conformity to the rules of the church. These troubles grew, and all efforts at peace, even on the part of the presbytery failed. The future of the congregation was doubtful. The pastor resigned in 1876, and all services, including Sunday-school and prayer meeting, were suspended. Some joined other churches, and others withdrew, so that in 1878 only about twenty members could be found out of a flourishing congregation at the beginning of the troubles of eighty communicants. At the beginning of 1878 those yet remaining faithful united with the church at Green Spring and employed the services of Rev. J. S. Axtell. The prayer meeting and Sabbath-school were reorganized and the general church work again set on foot. The former elders having resigned, their places were filled by N. T. Wilder, J. H. Herrick, and H. T. Barnum. These, with the minister in charge, constitute the session of the church. During the last three years seventeen new members have been added and all have worked peacefully. The church, although it has not grown rapidly in members since the healing of the breach, has increased in energy and courage, and now the foundation seems secure and the outlook favorable for great usefulness.


Spiritualism had for a long time a strong foothold in Clyde, but as a society no longer has an existence. The promulgation of the "Woodhull" doctrines caused dissension which has never been overcome. The number of adherents is gradually decreasing.


The Seventh Day Adventist church of Clyde was organized by Elder J. H. Waggoner August 11, 1867. It consisted of the union of two companies of Sabbath keepers known as the churches of Green Spring and West Townsend. This union was made at the request of the companies named and also by a vote of the Seventh Day Adventist conference, at the session of August 1 and 2, 1867. At the time of the organization of the Clyde church, O. F. Guilford was chosen elder and William Herald deacon, and ordained at the same meeting by Elder J. H. Waggoner. W. D. Sharp was elected church clerk and William Herald treasurer. W. D. Sharp served as clerk until 1876, when A. A. Hutchinson succeeded and served two years. In 1878 Dora F. Rowe became clerk. She opened the first book of records and recorded the above facts, collected from the scraps left by the previous clerks. The society built a house of worship in 1877-78. It was dedicated January 20, 1878, by J. H. Waggoner. Elder H. A.
St. John is the present pastor.


This beautiful and flourishing village is the veritable fulfilment of a prophesy made during the War of 1812, when an Indian trail along the ridge was the only course of travel through the township. Samuel Pogue, a soldier in Harrison's army, drove a stake at the spring south of Buckeye street, which was the spot marked out for his future residence. Here he foresaw a busy town. What was there in the surroundings to inspire such a prophesy? Nothing could be seen save a forest awful in its stillness and its density. A surface, except on the sand bars saturated with water, was surely no encouraging sight. Nor would an occasional glimpse of a hostile savage, caught among decaying logs and underbrush, give hope to anticipation. However this may be there is a growing town where it was prophesied there would be one.

A glance over the ground, in 1840, would show the pike filled with white covered wagons, carrying the goods and families of emigrants to the West; at the cross roads, Hamer's double log tavern, on one corner, McPherson's blacksmith-shop within a short distance; Amos Fenn's cabinet-shop, and two small stores. On the ridge to the west and southwest were flourishing farms; to the south, where the business center of Clyde now is, an untouched forest.

The term of "Bang All" had passed out of use and Hamer's Corners was the only name known to travellers or residents.

Clyde, as we see it to day, is the creature of the two railroads which cross here, affording better facilities for transportation than any other point in the county. The first town lots were laid out by William Hamer and Philip Beery. The construction of the railroads was the death blow not only to the name, but also the hamlet of Hamer's Corners. Mr. Hamer had surveyed, in town-lots, the land extending from the pike as a base line toward the south, so far as the junction of Maple and Main streets, being a triangular tract. This is recorded as "Hamer's addition to Centreville, "from which it appears that Centreville had become the accepted name of the place, although the post office was never so known. On the same day, February 6, 1852, Philip Beery had surveyed a small tract recorded as "Beery's addition to the village of Centerville," lying south of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern track and east of the Cleveland, Sandusky & Cincinnati.

In July, 1852, Lyman Miller fell in with the growing spirit of founding a town, and remembering the prophesy of his stepfather, Samuel Pogue, laid out a large tract west of the Cleveland, Sandusky & Cincinnati track, which is recorded as Miller's "Addition to the town of Centreville," but the papers were dated "Clyde," which shows that the name had been changed, probably about the time the survey was made.

A public meeting was held for the purpose of naming the infant town, there being much difference of opinion. A number of names were proposed, but the three most favored were Centreville, Hamersville, and Clyde. The last was the proposal of Dr. Tread way, whose personal popularity had perhaps as much weight with the assembled citizens as the beauty and brevity of the name. It is in the traditional history of the town that a few of the older heads were slightly sore because of the treatment their suggestions had received in the town meeting. Clyde had a large majority and was the name known in the records of the county, post office department, and railroad offices thereafter.

The next addition was made by George R. Brown, in September, 1852. Adjacent lands have since, from time to time, been added, as growing industries have increased the population.

A notable feature of the plat of this village is the irregularity of streets and lots. This condition of things is produced by following the direction of the railroads, which cross at an angle of about seventy degrees. The street system is still further complicated by the angling roads, which were laid out before the existence of the town. The streets in Miller's addition are parallel with the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern railroad; those of Brown's addition run with the Cleveland, Sandusky & Cincinnati railroad. The streets of Ames' addition follow the county road leading north, and those of Hamer's addition are laid off with reference to the pike. This irregularity in the system of streets detracts somewhat from the simple beauty the place might have, but the luxuriant shading more than supplies the loss. The sidewalk of every avenue is hidden from the burning sun by the foliage of thrifty maples and elms.

Clyde was incorporated a separate and independent borough under the laws of Ohio March 8, 1866, and a village government organized soon after that time — in April — with John M. Lemmon, mayor. Succeeding mayors have been: Joseph Zepernich, to June, 1871; S. AV. Reed, till April, 1872; Z. Perin, till April, 1880; since which time J. B. Bush has filled the office.


It is reliably stated that at one time there were eight public houses of entertainment between Clyde and Fremont. This was during the days of the mud road from Bellevue to Perrysburg.

A line of stages was early established to Sandusky over the north sand ridge, intersecting the State road at the site of the cemetery. This crossing became a popular place for taverns. The first tavern-keeper of note and prominence was William Hamer, whose name the place bore for more than a quarter of a century. Mr. Hamer begun to keep tavern on the Corners about 1826. The building was a double log structure, with the cracks well filled and a sawed board floor, and withal quite comfortable. In this respect it contrasted favorably with the two first taverns in the township, Benton's and Baker's, which were built six or seven years before, when boards were not to be obtained at any price. William McPherson's blacksmith shop, and in a short time a small store, gave the Corners a village appearance, and the residents bestowed upon it the name Hamer's Corners. This, however, is not the name by which the outside world knew the place. Bang All was the more common designation. The landlord of the corners is not to be held accountable for the condition of things which gave origin to this disagreeable pseudo name. Hamer, like all good hosts, sold whiskey, but for that reason is not to be blamed for the unfortunate reputation the place in early times acquired for drunken rows and general banging of eyes. Mr. Hamer's kind hospitality is remembered by some of the guests of his house. Old men are not few who regret that the good log tavern days have passed away. Whatever else may be said of the benefits conferred by industrial and social developments, it must be admitted that the homely hospitality of the days of slab benches and cheap whiskey has been lost. There was a romance about the old tavern which clings to the memory of old men and fires the imagination of generations born since the decay of pioneer institutions.

It was the practice of the period for travellers to attend to their own horses. Generally the log barn was of sufficient size to accommodate all, but in busy seasons it was not uncommon to hitch to the hind end of the wagon. The first business of the traveller was to water, wash, and feed the horses, while the female portion of the caravan took care of the babies and engaged lodgings. The men having tended their teams made straightway for the bar, where all bodily aches and pains were banished by a full glass. No time was lost in establishing an acquaintanceship, either among the women who formed a cheerful circle around a large log fire-place or among the men who were drinking each other's health in the barroom. The supper bell brought all together around a table bearing steaming corn-bread, well roasted venison or pork, and other staple articles of food. Supper over, the more sober and orderly retired early to their beds, while some of the gay and festive spent the early evening in cracking jokes and spinning yarns between rinks, winding up sometimes, though not frequently, in a drunken row. The rising sun generally found travellers on their journey. Horses were fed by the break of day, and after partaking of a cornbread breakfast the travellers repaired to their wagons and began the day's travel which, in muddy seasons, was sometimes not further than the next tavern. These taverns were everywhere much alike. We have applied these remarks to Hamer's only because it was the main point between Bellevue and Lower Sandusky.

The first frame tavern was built by Mr. Smith and afterwards owned by Wesley Anderson. After the railroad was built the Junction House, the oldest tavern in the present village of Clyde, was built by Lyman Miller.

In 1867 Henry Nichols, seeing the need of a comfortable hotel for the accommodation of the general public, and at the same time an opportunity for a profitable investment, began the erection of the Nichols House, which is now the only hotel, properly speaking, in the village. In 1871 this property passed into the hands of Josiah Barnet. After several changes William H. Kauffman became proprietor in 1873, and in 1875 purchased the property. He brought with him the experience necessary to the successful management of a hotel. He was for a number of years connected with hotels in Columbus and Indianapolis, and was afterwards, until coming to Clyde, proprietor of the Murray House, Springfield, Ohio, of which town he is a native.


It is not easy to say who opened the first store at the Corners, nor is it of any consequence. The Corners has been a trading point for fifty years. A man named Turk opened a store at an early day. Previous to 1845 stores were kept by Wesley Anderson, William Hamer, Mr. Bohl, Fred Vandercook, and E. M. Cook. Darwin E. Harkness began business in 1840, in a small room on the pike. He had previously been doing cabinet work.

One of the busiest places in the little village was William McPherson's blacksmith shop. This forge drew to the Corners considerable trade, for had it been presided over by one less skilled, farmers would have gone to Bellevue or Fremont more frequently than they did. The largest store at the Corners was opened by P. B. Beery, in 1851. Mr. Beery was a trained merchant and a man of tact. He had been in business in Sandusky and Fremont as a clerk previous to coming to Green Creek. One of Mr. Beery's clerks, Mr. William H. Bacon, has since been a successful merchant in Clyde.

The building now occupied by Norton Russel as a residence was used in 1848 by Mr. E. Ames for a store. Jonathan Ames soon after purchased the stock and removed the business to a small room on the opposite side of the street.

Mr. Beery sold his business in 1857 to Curtis, Bacon & Co. In 1859 W. H. and B. R. Bacon began business on the south side of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern railroad, and in the following spring removed to the first brick business block in the village, which had just been completed — the three-story block nearly opposite the post office — where they engaged in trade till 1866, when Powers & Joseph succeeded. B. R. Bacon removed to Kansas City; William H. the following year opened a store on the south end of Main street. From 1873 to 1878 he engaged in farming; since the last named date he has been in the dry goods trade.

D. E. Harkness, the oldest merchant in Clyde, is a son of Dr. William G. Harkness, who is mentioned under another head. He has never pushed an extensive trade, but has always been successful.

His store at the Corners, from 1840 to 1857, had a substantial patronage. In 1857 he removed to the new business centre, and maintained a steady trade till 1876, when E. M. Harkness purchased the store and succeeded to the business, which he still conducts. In 1878 the veteran merchant, not content with rest, again opened a store at the north end of Main street.

Powers & Joseph continued trade till about 1874, when Powers died. Joseph has been a successful merchant. The largest store ever opened in Clyde was established by Taylor & Richards, in 1872. After the fire of 1873 they occupied a double room in the new block now occupied by W. H. Bacon. Their stock was equal in quality and variety to any store in Northern Ohio, outside of Cleveland and Toledo. For the past few years Mr. Richards has been the sole proprietor, but on a smaller scale.

There are at present four dry goods stores. W. K. Bartlett was the pioneer in the hardware business. His store was in a little room in a frame building, which stood on the corner of Main and Buckeye streets, about 1858. Subsequent dealers were James Vandercook, S. B. Mann, William Wicks, W. C. Andrews, and Frank Rader.

The first drug store was opened by Dr. Eaton, on the pike. William Miller purchased the stock, and about 1860 removed to Main street. He died in 1865. Dr. Luse engaged in the trade a short time, and after him it passed through various hands, till it ceased to exist. H. H. Rabe has been in the drug trade on Main street since 1862. Rushton & Moll opened a store a few years later, which has for a number of years been owned by H. B. Tiffany. M. A. T. Pope completes the list of present druggists in Clyde.

In boots and shoes, groceries, and other branches of trade there is fair and honorable competition between a number of creditable stores in each department. The Clyde Banking association was organized October 1, 1870, B. Kline, D. E. Harkness, A. Richards, and F. W. Parkhurst being the partners. Mr. Kline has since retired.


Clyde stone mill, the oldest mill in the village, was built by a stock company in 1863. It is now owned by Lawrence & McConnell.

Hunter & Miles built the Star mill in 1870. C. Hunter is now the exclusive proprietor.

An edge tool factory was established by Hunter & Brigham in 1869. Ten men are employed throughout the year.

W. A. Hunter established a bath in 1874 with complete modern furniture. A well-used bathing establishment contributes more to the beauty and health of a town than is commonly supposed.

Clyde, during the last five years, has become an important point for the manufacture of brackets and other similar novelties. Wilbur Finch and George Super began the business in the summer of 1876 by making, on a small scale, work-baskets and paper-holders. Mr. Super continues the business. He employs three hands.

Hutchins & Brother began the manufacture of toilet brackets. Their patent double-frame bracket and glass has an extensive sale and employs ten hands in its manufacture.

D. F. Beck fitted out an establishment with suitable machinery and began making toilet brackets in the fall of 1876. He makes thirteen different styles, and has machinery which enables him to work up common walnut cord wood into the most handsome chamber decorations.

John W. Wolcott employs twelve hands in the manufacture of slat work novelties.

His patent work-basket, particularly, commands a ready sale. He has just patented, and is preparing to manufacture on an extensive scale, a kitchen table which combines many features valuable to the housewife. Mr. Wolcott came to Clyde in the spring of 1868 and started a sash and blind factory which he operated one year, and then engaged in the lumber business until the manufacture of novelties received his attention.

The Mefford Fruit Company was established in 1878 with a capital of three hundred thousand dollars, which includes the Mefford patent for drying fruit. D. M. Mefford was elected president of the company and has had general charge of the business. The establishment at Clyde has a capacity of three to five hundred bushels of green fruit per day. Establishments of this kind are of greater consequence to a town than at first glance might be supposed. It creates an active market for all kinds of staple fruit, and not only benefits the producers, but brings to the town a large trade which would otherwise be lost. If public patronage is the proper ground on which lo estimate merit, the success of the Mefford profess has already been established beyond contradiction.


There are in Clyde two carriage shops, two planing mills, a number of blacksmith shops, cabinet shops, etc. The first blacksmith was William McPherson, who carried on the trade until failing health necessitated his retirement. The first cabinet-maker was Amos Fenn; he "picked up" the trade, but became an efficient workman. Darwin Harkness did a prosperous business in this line for some time.

A veteran tradesman of the present time is Oliver M. Mallernee. He was born in Harrison county, Ohio, in 1836. Having learned the blacksmithing trade, he came to Clyde in 1857. In 1861 he enlisted as army blacksmith in the Third Ohio cavalry, and served till 1864. After the war he again worked at his trade in Clyde for a period. He then turned his attention to farming. He is now in the marble and monument trade in Clyde. Mr. Mallernee married, in 1866, Mrs. Elijah West, whose maiden name was Mary Blake.


William McPherson was the first commissioned postmaster in the township, the name of the office then being Hamer's Corners. He was followed by D. E. Harkness, who gave the villagers the benefit of a free delivery, leaking the mail in his hat, he would walk around to the taverns and stores on a distributing tour. There were at this time two mail lines, one along the pike, the other on the north ridge road to Sandusky. Succeeding postmasters have been Jacob McCleary, D. E. Harkness, J. W. Wales, W. H. Reynolds, J. B. Bush, J. P. Fish, J. B. Fellows, R. B. McPherson, and Mrs. Z. Perin.


Five of the leading orders in the United States have flourishing lodges at Clyde. They are all fortunate in having a large and enthusiastic membership.


Monticello Lodge No. 244 was chartered October 18, 1854, with the following members: William M. Harrison, Charles G. Eaton, Jacob McCleary, William S. Rupell, William Hamer, James W. Forster, Henry Burdick, John N. Rupell, and George R. Brown. A dispensation had been granted by the Grand Lodge of the State December 3, 1853, authorizing William M. Harrison, worshipful mastery Charles F. Eaton, senior warden, and Jacob McCleary, junior warden, to assemble and work as a lodge of Master Masons. The first election under the charter, in 1854, resulted in the choice of W. M. Harrison, W. M.; C. G. Eaton, S. W.; Jacob McCleary, J. W.; W. S. Rupell, secretary; William Hamer, treasurer; P. B. Beery, S. D.; William Hinton, J. D.; Robert Clapp, tyler.

The succession of worshipful masters has been; W. M. Harrison, C. G. Eaton, W. M. Harrison, William E. Lay, J. B. Stark, William E. Lay, A. B. French, J. W. Forster, E. T. Gettings, R. F. Patrick, A. B. French, F. M. Ginn.

The following Clyde Masons have received the Knight Templar degree: William E. Lay, Frank Rader, Tiffin commandery; W. H. Kauffman, Springfield; and W. M. Harrison, Orlin W. Harrison, and Eli Miller, Sandusky.

Acadia Lodge, No. 42, Free and Accepted Masons (colored), received a dispensation and was organized June 21, 1870, with the following officers: T. G. Reese, W. M.; G. R. Taylor, S. W.; D. Whitsell, J. W.; H. Winsor, treasurer; Edward Simpson, secretary; S. Manby, S. D.; C. Wood, J. D.; Peter Points, tyler. The lodge was instituted December 10, 1872. This was the most notable occasion of the kind which has ever taken place in the town. Colored Masons were present from Toledo, Cleveland, and other surrounding towns and cities. The lodge disbanded July 13, 1875, which time there were twenty-four members.


A charter was granted to Clyde Lodge, No. 380, May 10, 186C. The lodge was instituted August 3, 1866, by Right Worthy Grand Master Daniel Fitchen. The charter members were: Matthias Benner, George B. Fuller, Richard F. Pat rick, S. M. Reynolds, George T. Bell, W. W. Stilson, B. R. Bacon, George Smith, Peter Upp, N. K. Taylor, Joseph Barnett, John Mc Martin, James McMartin, A. T. Smith, G. R. Brown, and W. W. Whitton. The past noble grands of this lodge are: Matthias Benner, George B. Fuller, R. F. Patrick, W. W. Stilson, E. T. Gettings, Henry Baker, E. F. Drake, Albert Stark, Charles Wright, B. F. Rodgers, G. P. Humphrey, N. H. Taylor, N. B. Mason, John Malcolm, George H. Brace, J. G. Bruncker, Henry Bobst, George Carlton, G. W. D wight, S. B. Taylor, W. S. Vale, John Gazly.

The hall in which the lodge was instituted was burned March 9, 1874. In this fire was lost all the furniture, one set of new regalia, and all the emblems. Meetings were held on the west side of the street until after the completion of the Lemmon block, which the lodge has since used. The largest number of members at one time was one hundred and fifteen. The lodge has at present seventy-five members and eleven hundred dollars in the treasury.

Earl Encampment No. 105 was instituted June 12, 1868, with M. Benner, E. T. Gettings, Henry Baker, Henry Graback, George T. Bell, E. F. Drake, Peter Copsey, and G. B. Fuller as charter members.

Charity Degree Lodge No. 18, Daughters of Rebekah, was chartered May 12, 1870. The charter members were: Henry Baker and wife, N. H. Taylor and wife, M. Benner, R. F. Patrick, H. F. Barnum, E. Gettings, and wife, H. V. Nichols and wife, G. S. Rhodes and wife, J. W. Forster, and J. J. Nichols.


Clyde Lodge, No. 989, was instituted March 9, 1879. The charter members were E. T. Gettings, John Surbeck, C. Griffin, B. F. Rodgers, George Carlton, Louis Hoch, M. B. Lemmon, W. J. Payne, S. D. West, W. A. S. Ward, T. J. Carlton, J. F. Harris, N. W. Bush, H. B. Tiffany, W. H. Kauffman, John Billman, and C. H. McCleary. The present membership of this lodge is one- hundred and seven. Since organization one death loss has been paid. There is in the treasury a balance of fourteen hundred dollars. At the date of organization M. B. Lemmon was chosen past-dictator, and E. T. Gettings, dictator. He served three terms and has been succeeded by B. F. Rodgers, A. B. Chapman, and H. M. Howard.


Clyde Lodge, No. 126, Knights of Pythias, was instituted January 13, 1881, by Deputy Grand Chancellor D. M. Lazerus. B. F. Rogers was elected past-chancellor and E. T. Gettings, chancellor commander. The lodge was chartered with twenty-nine members, which number has been increased to forty-two.


Clyde Council, No. 298, of this order was organized September 13, 1880. C. H. McCleary was elected past-commander, and W. C. Andrews commander. The other officers elected were: George W. Lawrence, vice-commander; J. H. Rhodes, orator; O. W. Harrison, secretary; P. W. Parkhurst, treasurer; C. K. Harnden. medical examiner; George P. Huntley, chaplain; A. B. Chapman, guide; J. H. Davenport, warden; John Baker, sentry; H. B. Tiffany, Louis Hoche and Giles Dewey, trustees.


Mrs. Lydia Slocum is held in grateful remembrance by the people of this community on account of her inherent excellence of character. Lydia Norton was born at New Canaan, Massachusetts, in 1777. In her twenty-first year she married John Russel. Four years later they removed to Ontario county, New York. Mr. Russel died in 1813, leaving a family of five children, three of whom finally settled in this county — Norton, William S., and Cynthia McPherson. A few years after Mrs. Russel married James Chase, but after a short period was again left a widow. She came to this township in 1828 and engaged in school teaching for a period of seven years. She was a competent teacher. This cannot be truthfully said of many of the teachers of the time, when the profession was not appreciated as it is at present. In 1840 Mrs. Chase married Isaac Slocum and removed to Bellevue. After the death of her husband she returned to Clyde and made her home with Mrs. McPherson until two years before her death, when she joined the family of her son, Norton Russel. Mrs. Slocum died October 4, 1876, aged ninety-nine years, six months and seven days. Mrs. Slocum was a lady of rare intelligence and Christian character. During seventy-eight years of her long life she was a zealous church member. Her full life was jeweled to the end with good works.

U. B. Lemmon, the subject of this sketch, was born in Livonia, Livingston county. New York, March 16, 1808; came to Ohio with his father's family in 1827. When a young man he learned the carpenter and joiner's trade, at which he worked for some six years. On the 14th of August, 1834, he was married to Miss Emily McIntyre, of Ithaca, New York. For some thirty years subsequent to his marriage he was engaged in farming. In 1864 he removed to Clyde, his present residence. He has been blessed with a family of six sons and four daughters. Four sons and three daughters are heads of families. He had four sons in the late war, two in the Seventy-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and two in the One Hundred and Sixty-ninth National Guards.

That William M. Harrison is an enthusiastic Mason will be seen by glancing at the paragraph relating to that subject in a previous part of this chapter. He is a son of James Harrison, a native of New Jersey, but during most of his life a resident of New York. William Marks was born in 1807. In 1837 he married Adaline M. Wright. In 1845 he came to Sandusky county, and settled in Green Creek township. He served as deputy sheriff of the county for a number of years.

Darwin E. Harkness, son of Dr. William G. Harkness, was born in 1814 in Springport, New York. The family settled at Hauler's Corners in 1833. Darwin E. worked at cabinet making until about 1838, when he engaged in the grocery business, and has since been engaged in trade of various kinds. Mr. Harkness married Mary De Zang, of Seneca county, New York. They have had a family of three children, two of whom are living. Emmons D. is in business in Clyde; Nettie L. Davenport resides in Missouri. McFall, the oldest child, died of disease contracted in the army.

Moses O. Nichols was born July 17, 1818, at Deerfield, New Hampshire. At the age of sixteen he engaged in business at Haverhill, Massachusetts; in less than a year he engaged in the manufacture of shoes on his own account, but a taste for music induced him to give all his spare time to experimenting on musical instruments. He invented the first pipe key melodeon. In 1843 he began the manufacture of organs, at Brattleborough, Vermont, making the first box swell used in the reed organ. From Vermont Mr. Nichols removed to Boston, where he manufactured organs for ten years. He afterwards had a factory at Syracuse, New York, which employed one hundred men. From 1860 till 1879 Mr. Nichols engaged in newspaper publishing and in the sale of musical instruments, for the greater part of the time in Indiana. In 1879 he settled in Clyde. His last invention is the grand dynamicon.

Among the residents of Clyde are a number of retired farmers, men who spent their best days in hard toil, and are now passing the evening of their life amid the pleasant surroundings of a village. One of the most highly respected citizens of this class is John Lefever. He was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, in 1807. In 1816 the family removed to Fairchild county, Ohio, where, in 1829, John married Rachel Swope. Three years later he came to this county and settled on one hundred acres of land which he had entered in Green Creek township. On this farm he lived till 1865, when he sold and removed to Clyde. Mrs. Lefever died in 1847. The family consisted of nine children, seven of whom are living — Louisa, Rebecca, John S., William C., Jacob D., Oscar T., and Jane. Mr. Lefever married for his second wife, in 1849, Elvira Reed, who was born in Ottawa county. New York, in 1814. Mr. Lefever has frequently been chosen to fill local offices, township trustee, etc. His services on the school board of Clyde since 1868 are worthy of special mention.

William Hamer was born in Geneseo, New York, in 1791. In 1815 he married Kezia Cleveland, who died September 19, 1856. He came to Ohio in 1826, and began keeping tavern at the Corners. Soon after that time he laid out the first town lots in Centreville, now Clyde. He married for his second wife Mrs. Priscilla Blanchard, who is yet living.


This thriving little village contains between eight and nine hundred people, and is situated partly in the southwestern part of Green Creek township, and partly in Adams township, Seneca county. It is well known as a health resort, the Water Cure and Dr. Brown's Diabetic Cure being among the prominent institutions of the place. The village received its name from the mineral spring situated near it. The industries of the place are as follows:

Sash and blind factory. Smith heirs, proprietors; the spoke and hub factory of John Netcher; the furniture manufactory of A. R. Young & Co.; the pork-packing house of J. W. Stinchcomb & Co.; Hahn's tannery; the saw-mills of John Netcher and Levi Huber; the First National Bank, two hotels in the village and one near the Water Cure, two drug stores, two variety stores — hardware, groceries, etc.; three groceries, one stove and tinware shop, one harness shop, besides blacksmiths' shops, saloons, etc., may be mentioned among the business interests. Several attempts have been made to run a newspaper in the village, but each paper has had but a short existence.

M. B. Adams was the first settler in the place, and built the first house. He came from Norwich, Connecticut, in 1834, or perhaps the year previous. His daughter Ellen, who afterwards became the wife of George Backus, and died in Defiance, Ohio, was the first child born in the village. Mr. Adams remained only a few years, then moved to Defiance, where he died. His widow is still living there.

Daniel H. Dana, born in the State of Vermont, March 29, 179S, moved from New York State and settled at Green Spring in 1834, being attracted hither by a belief that the mineral spring would some day become known and valued. The Indians had been removed a short time previous to his settlement. Mr. Dana obtained an analysis of the spring water, and learned its valuable medicinal qualities. He kept the first store in the place, having his goods in a room of his log-house the first year. The following year he built a frame store on the corner opposite the store now occupied by Mr. Watrous. He also carried on the mercantile business in a store on Butternut Ridge, one-half mile east of where William Lay resides, at the same time. Mr. Dana built a tannery which he operated in company with Robert Smith. Soon after they erected a shop in which the manufacture of boots and shoes was carried on quite extensively. Mr. Dana was a useful citizen, and did much toward the advancement and growth of the village. He served as justice of the peace, and was the first postmaster.

In 1823 Daniel H. Dana married Philinda Tiffany. Three of their children are living — George T. Dana, Green Creek township; Marian and Mary, Green Spring. Mr. Dana died March 29, 1881, aged and honored. He was an uncle of Charles A. Dana, of the New York Sun.

J. A. Watrous, who was born in New London county, Connecticut, in 1803, came to Green Spring in 1834, from Huron county. Before coming here he married Eunice Stewart, by whom he had four children, only one of whom is living — Mary — wife of Frederick Wheeler, residing in Iowa. His daughter Laura, afterwards the wife of William Western, Sandusky City, was the second child born in the village. She died in Michigan. For his second wife Mr. Watrous married Miss Hannah (Carpenter) Adams. To them were born four children, three of whom are living — Nancy, wife of Frederick Durant, in Canada; Alice married D. P. Campbell, and lives near Manchester, New Hampshire; Hannah married J. P. Turner, and lives with her parents.

Jacob Stem, originally from Carroll county, Maryland, was an early settler. He moved to Green Spring from Tiffin. Three of his daughters still reside in the village. Mr. Stem built the second store erected in the place — the building now occupied by Mr. Watrous, as a tin shop. He also built the first saw-mill and the first grist-mill north of the village. For use in the saw-mill he took the water from the sulphur spring. This mill was erected very near the old mill which the Government built for the use of the Indians.

The place settled slowly. Other early comers were Phineas Adams, Wilcox, Robert Smith, and Jacob Huber. Wilcox acted as clerk in Stem's store. Robert Smith became one of the leading citizens, and a most successful business man. General McPherson came to this place when a boy fourteen years old, and clerked for A. M. Stem and Robert Smith, the successors of Jacob Stem in the mercantile business, until he was about twenty.

The post office was established in 1837, Daniel H. Dana, postmaster. The petitioners were allowed a post office on condition that it should pay current expenses. Mr. Watrous acted as mail-carrier the first year, carrying the mail from Hamer's Corners, now Clyde, twice a week in summer and once a week in winter. The proceeds of the office during this year were thirty-seven dollars and fifty cents, and this amount was paid to Mr. Watrous for his services, the postmaster receiving no compensation whatever.

Mr. Todd began wagon-making and Elisha Alvord succeeded him in the business. The first blacksmith in the place was Ephraim Porter, who remained only two or three years. J. A. Watrous was his successor. The first hotel was kept by Roswell George, in 1838. It was built by Colonel Bradley. The first shoemaker was Jacob Huber, now living in Green Creek township. A lot was donated him by Jacob Stem, on condition that he engage in his trade upon it.

The first church was built by the Methodists in 1853. Doctor Wheeler was its prime mover. The other churches of the village are the Presbyterian, the United Brethren, and Catholic — all of recent date.

The village was incorporated in 1873. John A. Wright was the first mayor and served about two months. His successors have been O. L. Bartlett, Gideon Gordon, C. S. Burton, and J. S. Myers.

The school district has recently voted to assess its tax-payers to the extent of twenty thousand dollars, and has given bonds for that amount for the purpose of erecting a school-building. Work has already begun. The school-building will be leased and used as an academy for tuition schools. The school to be free to scholars in the district.

Biographical Sketches,


Nathaniel Hutchinson was a native of Massachusetts, and passed his life in Ambridge in that State. He was the father of John, Thomas, and Joseph Hutchinson, who moved to Clark county, Ohio, about the year 1818. John remained only a short time in this State, but went to southern Indiana and settled on the Wabash, where both he and his family fell victims to the fever. Thomas remained in Ohio some twenty years, then removed to Lagrange county, Indiana, and died in that State.

Joseph Hutchinson, the father of the subject of this biography, was born April 21, 1782. He was married in his native State in the month of October, 1805, to Mary A. Hodgman, who was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, October 10, 1783. She was left an orphan while very young, and was brought up in the family of Mr. Adams until her marriage. After coming to this State Joseph Hutchinson resided in Clark county until 1827, and in April of that year moved to Green Creek township, Sandusky county. He was a mechanic, and followed his trade through life. After locating upon his land in this county he went to Monroeville, Huron county, and there worked at his trade about six years. At the end of this period he returned to Green Creek and remained here until his death. Joseph Hutchinson was the father of eight children, three of whom are living at present. Following are their names and dates of birth: Mary A., born September 9, 1807, married June 14, 1829, to Asahel Franklin, Clark county; died in May, 1848. Joseph H., born April 17, 1809, died November 24, 1823. (He was killed by being thrown from a horse.) Charlotte, born February 7, 181 1. February 10, 1831, she married S. S. Kellogg, in Huron county, where they resided several years. She died in Huron county, in February, 1854. Louisa, born September 12, 1814, became the wife of Elisha Lake; resided in Huron county until her husband's death; married Charles Petty, and now resides in Woodbury county, Iowa. Josiah B., born November 30, 181 7, died May 28, 1836. Alfred, born September 17, 1820. Phebe M., born May 29, 1825; married Noble Perin, who died in Andersonville prison. She now resides in Green Creek township. Joseph, jr., born May 29, 1830; was killed by falling from a loaded wagon, the wheels of which passed over him.

The mother of these children died in February, 1851. Mr. Hutchinson died in January, 1855. They were both members of the Baptist church from their youth up, and were honored and esteemed for their integrity, industry, uprightness, and worth.

Alfred Hutchinson attended the common schools when a boy. At the age of eighteen he commenced learning the trade of brick-laying and plastering, working at this employment in summer and attending school in winter until he became of age. Mr. Hutchinson followed his trade about thirty years in this vicinity, and since quiting it has been engaged in farming.

He was married, April 6, 1843, to Mary Dirlam, daughter of Orrin and Annis (Gibbs) Dirlam. Mrs. Hutchinson is the fourth of a family of seven children, and was born August 18, 1823. Her mother died in Massachusetts when Mrs. Hutchinson was only six years of age. Her father came to Ohio and was a resident of Green Creek many years. He is still living in Lorain county at an advanced age.

Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Hutchinson are the parents of four children, two of whom are living, viz: Zemira, born December 2, 1844; served in company A, Seventy-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and died in prison at Florence, South Carolina, October 30, 1864. Charles B., born March 21, 1848; married Emma Strickland, daughter of Franklin and Hannah Strickland, of Green Creek, and resides near his parents. He is the father of four children, three of whom are living — Aleck, Claude (deceased), Chellie, and Lottie. The next of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Hutchinson was a son, born May 30, 1851, who died in infancy. Frederick, the youngest, now living at home, was born January 28, 1861.

Mr. Hutchinson and wife have never united with any church, but in their work and in their lives they are recognized as friends to truth and religion. Mr. Hutchinson is a temperance man and a sound Republican. During the past years he has held various township offices, all of which he has filled acceptably. Both he and his wife are nicely situated in a pleasant home, and are now able to enjoy with tranquil minds the fruits of their toil and industry.


This departed worthy citizen of Sandusky county was born in Otsego county. State of New York, on the 19th day of January, 1802. His father's name was Oliver McIntyre, and his mother's name was Mary Hitchcock, a widow, whose maiden name was Miller. The subject of this sketch was married on the 12th of April, 1831, to Miss Maria Tyler, of Otsego county. New York, who died at Fremont on January 14, 1849. Mary, his oldest daughter, was born in Otsego county, and with his wife and this daughter he immigrated, and settled in Townsend township in 1835, where the following other children were born, namely: George T. and Winfield G. After locating in Townsend, Mr. McIntyre taught school winters and worked by the day in the summer for about twelve years. Here Mr. McIntyre bought land and settled, and thus taught and labored, serving meantime as justice of peace for a number of years, and until he was elected county treasurer of Sandusky county, in the fall of 1847. He served as treasurer four consecutive years, and no man ever served more faithfully, nor accounted for the funds of the county with more sincere honesty than he did.

Mr. McIntyre was married a second time on the 25th day of February, 1851, to Mrs. Margaret Bement, of Sandusky, whose maiden name was Margaret Heep, her first husband, George D. Bement, having died several years before, and about the same time Mr. McIntyre's first wife died, and of the same disease, erysipelas. By this second marriage he had one son, named Wallace, now living, who is unmarried. He lives with his mother, and is a devoted helper.

Mr. McIntyre, shortly before his second marriage, bought the Hawk farm on Green Creek, and settled on it, and was residing there at the time. This farm was situated on the east side of Green Creek. He sold this farm April 1, 1875, and purchased one on the west side of the creek, to which he immediately moved, and there lived until the time of his death, which was nearly a year after his removal. He died on the 11th day of September, 1876.

Wallace McIntyre, the son by the last marriage, was born at the farm on Green Creek on the nth day of December, 1857, and is a bright and promising young man, devoted to the maintenance and comfort of his widowed mother. Although an ardent Democrat, when the news came that Fort Sumter had been fired upon, Oliver McIntyre's patriotism submerged his party predilections, and a more thorough and patriotic Union man could not be found in the county.

One day a member of his party, who had publicly uttered disloyal sentiments and denounced the war, was waited upon by a committee, who wished to save him from violent treatment. The accused came with the committee, a large crowd following, and was placed on a dry goods box in the middle of Front street, and asked to declare his sentiments, while a Union man floated the Stars and Stripes over him. The man made a satisfactory statement and apology. The writer was then standing near Oliver McIntyre, who, pale with excitement, and flashing eyes, in a voice half-choked with emotion, turned to the writer, and said: "Homer, thank God! there is yet power in that old flag, and we can save the country!"


This early settler in Green Creek township was born March 14, 1806, at Mount Morris, State of New York. His father was Clark Cleveland, sr., and his mother was Jemima (Butler) Cleveland. When James was at the age of eighteen years, his father removed with his family from Mount Morris to Huron county, Ohio, and settled and remained there several years. Mr. Cleveland, the father, lost the title to the form he settled on in Huron county, and then removed to Green Creek township, Sandusky county, where he bought land of the Government, eighty acres, on which he made improvements and remained until the day of his death, which occurred in 1831.

Clark Cleveland, sr., left surviving him the following named children: Abigail, who married Oliver Hayden, not living; Cozia, who married William Hamer, not living; Moses, not living; Sally, who married Benjamin Curtis, was left a widow and afterwards married Alpheus McIntyre, not now living; Clark, jr., married Eliza Grover, and left six children, four girls and two boys, — parents both dead; Polly, who married Timothy Babcock, not living; Betsey, who married Samuel Baker, and is now living, a widow aged about seventy-eight years.

James Cleveland, the subject of this sketch, resided with his father until he was twenty-five years of age, at which time he married Jeanette Rathbun, sister of Saxton S. Rathbun, of the same township, on the 3d day of March, 1831. At the time of his marriage James Cleveland had earned and saved sufficient money to purchase forty acres of land, which was part of what was known as the Sawyer land. On this forty acres he began his married life. For about five years he worked on this farm in making improvements and supporting his family. He then, in company with his wife's father (Chaplin Rathbun), rented a saw-mill on Green Creek, about two or three miles from his farm, and during the winter kept his family in a house near by the mill. There was connected with the saw-mill a small grist-mill, in which they also took an interest by lease. Li this way Mr. Cleveland supported his family and obtained sufficient lumber to build a barn on his farm the next year. After he left the mills, having run them one winter, he returned to his farm and continued working and improving it, and also purchased more land adjoining him.

About the year 1841, when the road bed of the Maumee and Western Reserve turnpike was being graded and made ready for macadamizing, Mr. Cleveland took a contract to grade a half mile of the road, next east of the present residence of Charles Clapp, esq. He again moved his family to his place of work and there kept them about five months, when he moved back again to his farm. His pay for his job on the road was in certificates of ndebtedness under the authority of the State and was not realized in cash. He realized about six hundred dollars for his work. This scrip, or most of it, he traded to Edward Whyler, then a merchant at Lower Sandusky, and bought nails, glass, and such articles of hardware as were then used in building frame houses. He then set about building a frame dwelling of good proportions which he finished in the year 1845, and occupied until his death. Meantime he kept on buying land and adding to his possessions quite rapidly, proving himself to be an active, vigilant, and industrious citizen.

Mr. James Cleveland and his wife Jeanette had born to them ten children, six sons and four daughters, namely: James B., who married Julia Parmeter, still living, and has one son and one daughter; Eliza, who married A. J. Harris, and died in 1861, leaving one son; Clark R. Cleveland, who married Sarah Hearl, with whom he is still living, and has seven children, three daughters and four sons; George D. Cleveland, who married Rosa Metts, who is dead, leaving one son and two daughters; Lucinda, who married Horace Tyler, with whom she is still living, having a family of two daughters and one son living; Chaplin S. Cleveland, who married Susie West, with whom he is still living, and has two sons and three daughters living; John H. Cleveland, who married Helen Starks, and died October 28, 1879, leaving one daughter; Sarah, who married Charles Sackrider, still together, and have one son; Mary married George Crosby, still living together, and have one child, a daughter; Charles Cleveland, who never married, and who died on the 14th day of December, 1879. Mrs. James Cleveland, who gives the data of this notice, says there are of James Cleveland's family two great-grandchildren which were not noticed in the foregoing list.

Mr. and Mrs. James Cleveland were what may be termed workers. Both were active and incessant in their efforts to prepare for old age and also for assisting their children to their start in life. At the time of Mr. James Cleveland's death, which occurred on September 1, 1878, himself and wife, by their hard work and care, had accumulated very near four hundred acres of land, with dwellings comfortable, several orchards, three barns, and other property in abundance. The children now living are all settled and comfortable within a distance of not over four miles from the mother, who is now healthy, vigorous, lively and intelligent at the age of sixty-six years. Mrs. Cleveland is a woman below the medium size, and in her best days weighed about one hundred and twenty pounds. She never shrank from any work she could do for the advancement of the family. When clearing up their farm she assisted by hauling rails with a yoke of oxen and laying them up into fences, while her husband cut down the trees and split the timber into rails. One season when help was not to be had Mrs. Cleveland fastened her child on her back with a shawl and carried it with her while she planted and hoed corn in the field. Her first calico dress she obtained by picking strawberries and bringing them from home on foot, a distance of about eight miles, to Lower Sandusky. These she traded to Jesse S. Olmsted for twelve and one-half cents a quart, and thus paid for her calico dress pattern of five yards at twenty-five cents per yard. When her husband died he left an estate worth about thirty thousand dollars and owed no man a cent. The widow now enjoys a handsome support from the land and other property left by her husband. Five generations have lived in the vicinity and chiefly on the farm which she and her children now occupy: First, Clark Cleveland, sr; second, James Cleveland (the subject of this sketch); third, James Cleveland's children; fourth, James Cleveland's grand children; fifth, James Cleveland's great grand children, of which there are now two. Surely few localities can show as well in permanent residence and numbers as the Cleveland neighborhood in Green Creek township, and few boast of belter citizens than the Cleveland settlement.

NOAH YOUNG.  643 -646

Among the earliest settlers in Sandusky county were the Young family. Charles Young was born in Berkeley county, Virginia, February 28, 1789. He passed the most of his youthful days in Pennsylvania. At an early date he came to Ohio, took up a tract of wild land in Pickaway county, and entered upon the work of a pioneer. His wife was Nancy Scothorn, a native of Pennsylvania. After living some years in Pickaway county, they moved to Seneca county, and remained one year. In 1825 Mr. Young came to Sandusky county with his family, and located upon a quarter section which he had previously purchased in Green Creek township. His son is still living upon a part of the old place. To Charles and Nancy Young were born three sons and six daughters, namely: Noah, Nathan, Rebecca, Elizabeth, Susan, Mary, Nancy, Lewis I. C, and Elsie. Nathan died when an infant. Rebecca married James Huss, and died in Texas. She was the mother of two children, who are still living. Elizabeth married Matthew Hutchins, and now resides in Ballville township. She has four children living and three deceased. Susan became the wife of Milton Brown, and died in Steuben county, Indiana. She bore one child who is still living. Mary married James Fowl, and died in Ballville. One child living. Nancy now resides in California. She is the wife of James Rollins, and the mother of two children living. Lewis I, C. resides in Steuben county, Indiana. He is the father of six children, four of whom are living. Elsie married Hubbard Curtis, and lives in California. She has five children living, and one deceased. The parents of this family of children had their share of the rough experiences of pioneers. When they came to Sandusky county the whole region was little more than a wilderness. Indians were far more numerous than white people. Their toil and hardships were similar to those which almost all of the early settlers encountered, but they lived to see a great change wrought upon the face of the country.

Mr. Young died December 10, 1841. Mrs. Young died some years later at the home of her youngest son in Steuben county, Indiana, aged about sixty-three years. She was a sincere Christian and a lady of most excellent character. Although Mr. Young was a member of no church, he was a man of upright strictly honest in business, obliging and agreeable in his personal address, and died a most respected citizen.

Noah Young was born in Pickaway county, Ohio, December 24, 1818. Being the son of a pioneer farmer, he was brought up to hard work, and had few opportunities for obtaining a school education. Some idea of his early experiences may be gathered from the following account, it being remembered that Noah was a boy in his seventh year when his parents settled in their new home. The family arrived upon the 25th of February, 1825. A small log cabin had been erected by Mr. Young the same winter. It was built of unhewn logs. In the front side was an opening, without door or glass in it, which served both as a door and window. There was also a small opening in the back part of the cabin, but this, too, had no glass or other substance to keep out the winter winds. Part of a floor had been laid of loose boards, and overhead was a similar floor or scaffold, where the family stowed their goods. The cabin had no chimney or fire-place; the roof was made of "shakes," or long clapboards, held down by poles laid upon them. The sides of the building were "chinked up" without mud or plastering.

Mr. Young well remembers the keen disappointment his mother felt when she arrived, and surveyed the spot that was to be her home. She bore up as long as she could, but finally seated herself and indulged in a hearty cry. But the father at once set about making improvements, and in a few days had the cabin more comfortably fixed, and better suited for human habitation. Then he began clearing away the trees, and preparing a spot for a garden and a corn patch. He exchanged work with his neighbors, and made such progress that, by the 4th of June, he was ready to plant his corn. He began planting on Saturday, and it being so late in the season, he became so anxious to finish the job, that he decided to work on the following day. After breakfast, Sunday morning, he went out to the field, but soon returned to the house, greatly to the surprise of his wife. "What!" exclaimed she, "Aren't you going to finish your planting to-day?" "No," he replied; "if the corn would get ripe by planting today, it will have almost time enough to ripen if I put the work off until to-morrow." And he adhered to this determination to respect the holy Sabbath, although the necessity for working seemed great.

The corn patch was on the high ground, some two hundred yards from the house. After the corn had begun to grow, the chipmunks, which were numerous, became very troublesome. No corn would be raised if they were allowed to have their way. So little Noah was put in charge of the corn-field, and watched it from before sunrise until after sunset. To a boy less than seven years of age, in the midst of a dense forest where there was only one small, solitary clearing, a charge of this sort could not be the most agreeable thing in the world. He had no company, save when he could coax the dog to go with him. There in the lonely forest he watched patiently day by day, rejoicing as the hours passed by, and the long shadows of the trees admonished him that night was near. He did his work faithfully and well, although his courage was often so tried that when darkness came on, and he was to return to the cabin, he would shout to his mother to come and meet him, and attend him through the woods. For about three weeks he was kept at this employment, and rejoiced when the corn had grown so that watching it was no "longer necessary. What boy of the present day would crave a similar job?

Again, in the fall, when the corn had begun to ripen, new enemies appeared — blackbirds, raccoons, opossums, besides the squirrels. Blackbirds came in flocks, and were more numerous by far than the ears of corn. These must be kept away, and, of course, the services of the small boy were again in requisition.

Of  Mr. Young's school days something deserves to be said. When he was about eight years of age, a young man established a tuition school in the shoemaker shop of a neighbor. Noah's father decided to allow his son to attend. But he had no book, and no means of procuring one. As a substitute his father took a sheet of foolscap and wrote out the letters of the alphabet as best he could make them, — he was not an excellent penman, — and furnished with this outfit the boy trudged off to school. One day the master gave him a slight cut with a small stick and admonished him to "study." The pupil objected to this treatment and soon afterward severed his connection with the school. He attended school nine days in all, and learned a part of the alphabet. The following winter he attended school a few days at the house of a neighboring lady, and made a little further progress. The third school he attended about one month, having Webster's spelling-book as his only text-book. When Noah was about seventeen he went to school a portion of two terms and began the study of arithmetic and geography. He had just begun to get a little insight into these sciences when the school-house took fire and burned down, thus abruptly ending the term. A school was not re-established for a year or two. In arithmetic he advanced sufficiently to be able to add a little, and resolved to pursue his studies at home. By this time he had become a tolerably good reader, and was able to comprehend the most of the first rules in the book. But in addition, the mysterious words, "carry one for every ten," stopped short his progress, though he puzzled many hours over their meaning. At length he obtained the assistance of a young man who explained away the difficulty; and from that time onward he pursued the study of arithmetic alone, and became master of the greater part of the book. When he was twenty years of age, the school house having been rebuilt and a teacher procured, Mr. Young resumed his attendance for the most of two terms. He studied by fire-light at home and gained quite a reputation for scholarship among the neighbors. At the age of twenty-four the directors of his school district urged him to become their teacher for the winter term, assuring him that he was qualified for the position, although English grammar and other branches, now taught in every school, were subjects which he had never investigated. After some hesitation Mr. Young accepted their offer, and the directors took him before Mr. Stark, the examiner, at Fremont, and assured this official that they considered the young man competent to instruct in their school. Upon this recommendation a certificate was granted and Mr. Young entered upon his duties. He taught three terms very successfully, though to qualify himself for his work he often studied until late at night to be sure that none of the scholars should catch him tripping over any difficulties in the lessons for the next day. Thus ended his school education; but careful reading and a habit of thoughtfully considering all that he peruses, has made Mr. Young a man of good general information.

Mr. Young's father, at his death, bequeathed a portion of his farm to his son, and soon after attaining his majority Noah took possession and began work for himself. September 11, 1842, he was married to Orlintha Brown, daughter of Jeremiah and Olive (Hutchins) Brown. Mrs. Young was born in Oswego county, New York, May 27, 1824, and came to Sandusky county with her parents. She died April 15, 1870. She was a woman of industry and economy, a fitting companion and helpmate to her husband, and bore a good reputation as a wife and mother. To her were born eleven children, ten of whom are living. Norman, the first child, died when about twelve years of age. The others are living, located as follows: Emeline, wife of Walter Huber, (keen Creek; Norton, Green Creek; Sidney and Charles, Ballville ; Chauncy, Steuben county, Indiana; Olive, wife of Oliver Huss, Green Creek; Burton, Edwin, Nancy, and Villa Viola, Green Creek.

Mr. Young's second marriage took place April 7, 1872, when he wedded Miss Louisa Braund, daughter of Edward and Ann Braund, natives of England. Mrs. Young was born in Devonshire, England, June 3, 1834. She belongs to the church of the United Brethren, of which Mr. Young has been a prominent member for many years. About twenty years ago he was licensed as an exhorter by the quarterly conference of this church, and during the past fifteen years has been a licensed local preacher.

Mr. Young was formerly a Democrat, but since the war he has voted with the Republicans. He has never sought office but has served in various local offices.

Mr. Young has always believed in temperance and practiced it. He has never used liquor, except as a medicine, and does not know the taste of tobacco. His large family of children have been reared properly and carefully. None of the sons use tobacco or liquor, and profane language was never heard in his household. Mr. Young enjoys a contented mind and has no enemies.

THE BAKER FAMILY.    646-647

A portrait is presented of the first known representative of the family which made the first permanent settlement in this township. Samuel Baker, sr., emigrated from New York State to Sandusky county in the winter of 1818, bringing with him a family of five children, namely: Samuel, Sarah Ann (Brown), Cincinnati; Almira (Grover) Michigan; Samantha (Shields), Fremont; Amelia (Simpers), Iowa. Samuel Baker, jr., oldest child of Samuel Baker, was born in New York in 1802. Rugged labor from boyhood gave him a constitution capable of enduring the experiences of pioneer life. At the age of sixteen he was placed in the midst of an unbroken forest, with no other society than the home circle. Clearing and planting was his only occupation, but every working day of the year was diligently occupied.

In September, 1826, Mr. Baker was united in marriage to Elizabeth Cleveland, a lady also accustomed to the privations of the country, being a daughter of Clark Cleveland, one of the earliest settlers of this part of the county. The fruit of this union was eight children, as follows: Samuel Baker was born February 20, 1827, married Emeretta Rathbun; died June 1, 1855, leaving two children of whom is living Emma (Wadsworth).

Clark Baker, born May 20, 1828; married Nancy Vroaman; died November 14, 1873, leaving three children — Ward, Nellie, and Evangeline.

Keziah Baker, born in March, 1831; married, first, William Hoel, who died leaving one child, Samuel; married, second, Edwin Gittins, by whom two children were born, one living — Clark. Mrs. Gittins died July 7, 1859.

Sarah Ann Baker, born August 26, 1833; married Solomon Knauss, who died in 1865. The family consists of three children — Clark, Elizabeth, and Solomon. Napoleon Baker was born June 7, 1836; married, first, Cynthia Leach, after her death, Diana Weaver; has a family of five children — Frank, Susan, Thomas, Abbie, and James.

Abigail Baker, born July 9, 1838, married Franklin Short; died September 30, 1864, leaving one child — Flora.

James Baker, born August 28, 1842; married Alice Hayes, and has a family of six children — Ella, Joseph, Elizabeth, Ellsworth, James, and Anna.

Jeremiah Baker, born February 24, 1844; married to Norman Ellsworth and has six children — Elizabeth, Florence, Nellie, Frederick, Norman and George.

Mr. Baker died April 5, 1880. Mrs. Baker continues to reside on the old homestead, surrounded by her large family of children and grandchildren. Samuel Baker was a man of quiet habits and unassuming manners. He was a farmer and wasted little time on outside affairs. His many friends will recognize in the portrait the plain, honest old gentleman who but a short time ago finished life's duties, having attained to the ripe old age of seventy-eight.


The grandparents of the subject of this sketch were Deacon Samuel Chapin and his wife, whose maiden name was Josselyn, of Litchfield county, Massachusetts. Deacon Chapin moved from Massachusetts to Cayuga county, New York, in 1792, his being the third white family to settle in that county. Samuel Chapin was an upright and devout man, and was a deacon of the Baptist church for many years. He was married twice, the second time to Mrs. Whitney, and was the father of seven children. Calvin C. Chapin, his oldest son and first child, was the father of Samuel W. Chapin. Luther lived in Cayuga county, New York, until he reached a ripe old age. Electa married Peter Stiles, moved to Michigan in 1834, and died in Genesee county in that State. Chauncy moved to Michigan about the same date and died there in 1873, in Genesee county. Samuel also went to Michigan and died there, at Ann Arbor. He was a post-master and justice of the peace in New York State, and an active business man, although a farmer the most of his days. Willard lived in Perry, New York, and was a tanner and currier by trade. He served as postmaster general years. In 1849 '"le died of the cholera. Sibyl married and remained in New. York State until her death.

Calvin C. Chapin was born in Litchfield county, Massachusetts, October 22, 1780. He received a fair common school education. When about twenty years of age, he married Rhoda Crofoot, a native of Massachusetts. In 1817 he moved to Kanawha county. West Virginia, where he remained about four years, and then went to Gallia county, Ohio. There his wife died April 16, 1830, in the town of Green, aged about fifty-two. In the fall of 1831 he moved to Bellevue, Sandusky county, and after changing his location several times, lived with his son, S. W. Chapin, during the last fourteen years of his lite, and died at his home in Green Creek township, December 28, 1864. He was a man of restless disposition and was never long contented without a change of abode. He was married twice, the second time to Mrs. Adaline Russell. By his first marriage six children were born. Asenath, born June 1, 1802, married John McKeen in Gallia county and died there; Pamelia, born May 8, 1804, married, in West Virginia, Oglesbury Higginbottom; Amarilous, born June 16, 1806, remained single. She died at the home of her brother Samuel in September, 1835; Robert P., born May 18, 1808, lived in Gallia county several years, died in Steuben county, Indiana, about the year 1845; Samuel Willard, born April 10, 1812; Mary Jane, born April 15, 1822, married Henry H. Manahan, and resides in Norwalk township, Huron county. Samuel and Mary are the only survivors. The others all died of consumption.

Samuel W. Chapin was born in Aurelius, Cayuga county, New York. He received a limited common school education in a log school-house. But in the school of experience he has been well taught, and reading and practice have stored his mind with a good supply of practical information. He passed his boyhood at home until old enough to work, when he began business life by working out upon a farm, — a hard means of earning a livelihood, as every farmer's boy who has tried it can testify. This life he followed for eleven years, working in a shoemaker's shop in the winter time toward the close of this period. He worked on the Ohio canal along the Scioto Valley three summers, commencing when sixteen years of age.

In 1832 Mr. Chapin came to Sandusky county, which has since been his home. He was married, February 14, 1835, to Jane Tuttle, daughter of Van Rensselaer Tuttle, of Green Creek township. They had but one child, that died in infancy. In 1835 Mr. Chapin leased a farm and began work for himself. His wife died April 30, 1836, aged about twenty-two years. This great 1oss destroyed his home, and Mr. Chapin again became a wanderer and a day-laborer for three years.

May 21, 1839, he married Sarah A. Dirlam, daughter of Orrin and Annis (Gibbs) Dirlam. Her parents were both natives of Massachusetts, and Mr. Dirlam moved to Green Creek township in 1833.

This union was blessed with six children, two of whom are living: Fatima, born March 21, 1840; married, in 1863, Fernando Perin, of Green Creek; after his decease, married Oscar Lefever; she now resides in Liscomb township, Marshall county, Iowa. Corydon C, born December 10, 1841; died September 5, 1849. Willard, born March 30, 1844; enlisted in March, 1864, in the Seventy-second Ohio Volunteer Infantry; died in Memphis September 14, 1864. Willie, twin to Willard, died an infant. Ralph H., born August 3, 1854, resides in Clyde, and is engaged in the livery business, a member of the firm of Chapin & Gray. The next, a son, born February 8, 1858, died in infancy.

Mrs. Sarah A. Chapin died September 10, 1873, aged fifty-five years.

Mr. Chapin is now living with his third wife, to whom he was united in marriage September 16, 1874. Her maiden name was Emma H. Meacham, second daughter of Dr. A. G. and Polly (Gault) Meacham. Dr. Meacham was a native of Vermont, moved to Adams township, Seneca county, near Green Spring, in 1841, and practiced a number of years in this vicinity. From here he went to, Illinois, where he died. Mrs. Meacham, a native of New York, is still living at Green Spring. Mrs. Chapin was born in Booneville, New York.

Mr. Chapin is a Universalist in his religious belief, though his parents were Baptists. He is liberal in his views, and a friend to every true religious faith. In politics he is a thorough Republican, and a strong temperance advocate.

Mr. Chapin is a self-made man. What he has gained in this life he has earned, and earned, too, by toil, and frequently by hardship. Now nearly three score and ten, he can look back with pleasure upon a busy life, without regret for idle days, for these he never had. He has cleared and improved over one hundred acres, and early and late has been active in working in the forest or the field.

DOCTOR J. L. BROWN.  649-650

Dr. J. L. Brown was born in Oneida county, New York, August 31, 1829, His parents were Charles and Anna (Phelps) Brown, of New England birth, and both descended from the Plymouth colonists. His grandfather. General John Brown, was a distinguished soldier of the Revolutionary war; his father served in the War of 181 2, and the doctor himself was in the late Rebellion. His father and mother went to New York State with their parents when but children, and there were brought up and married. In 1832 they removed thence to Ashtabula county, Ohio. Both are now deceased.

Doctor Brown is the youngest of a family of six children. His father was a teacher by profession, and under his instruction each of his children received their first educational training. The doctor attended school at the Jefferson Academy until he was eleven years of age, then continued his studies at Austinburg Institute, in Ashtabula county, working for his board in the family of a dairyman, where night and morning he milked seven cows and drove them to pasture a distance of two and one-half miles. His employer allowed him no lights, and as a substitute for these necessary articles in a student's outfit, while driving the cows he gathered hickory bark and made it serve instead of candles. His room contained a large fireplace, and in this he built the bark fire, by the light of which he studied, having suspended a large board in front of the fire-place to protect himself from the heat. By this dim light he prepared his daily lessons, often sitting up until late at night. In this manner he passed the winter, making good progress in his studies.

At the age of twelve, at the request of his mother, he was taken into the family of Rev. Mr. Austin, a Presbyterian minister, there to be educated for the ministry of that denomination. Here he remained about one year. At the end of this period he decided that he never could become a clergyman, having no taste for such a life; besides, he was already firmly convinced that he never could accept the teachings of the Presbyterian church.

At the age of thirteen he entered a drug store for a term of five years; of this time four months of each year was allowed to himself, and this time he improved to the best advantage, continuing his studies and preparing himself for a teacher. When fifteen years old he taught his first term, thus aiding himself in furthering the great object of his life, the practice of medicine. At the age of eighteen he attended his first course of medical lectures. At twenty he was united in marriage to Miss Mary N. Mclntyre, a lady still younger than himself. Soon after taking this step he imbibed the western fever, which was raging in his vicinity in those days, came to Fort Seneca, Seneca county, Ohio, and there began the practice of medicine, with a fortune of one dollar and seventy cents as the sum total of his worldly possessions. He practiced medicine in this obscure little village for a period of eight years. Not satisfied with the slow growth of the place, in the fall of 1859 he removed to Green Spring. The following winter he graduated from the Cleveland Medical College, and pursued his profession until the winter of 1862-63, when he was called to examine the Western troops at Fort Dennison. Soon after arriving there he enlisted as a volunteer surgeon, and in that capacity was given charge of the One Hundred and Sixteenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, stationed at Winchester, Virginia, where he continued until June i6, 1863, when he was taken prisoner at the battle of Winchester, General Milroy being in command. The doctor was then sent to Richmond with other prisoners, and confined in that historical prison, "Castle Thunder," under grave charges preferred by the rebels. These charges not being sustained, after nineteen days of dungeon life he was removed to Libby prison and put on equal footing with other prisoners of war. Here he was kept seven months and twenty-two days. At the expiration of this time he was exchanged, and returned to his regiment in Virginia, where he found awaiting him a commission as post surgeon of that department, having to report monthly to Washington the sanitary condition of all the hospitals from Martinsburg, Virginia, to Harper's Ferry. This arduous duty Dr. Brown performed with honor to himself and fidelity to the Nation, until the troops were all returned from these points to Richmond and vicinity. He then returned to his home and family at Green Spring, and soon after commenced his present business.

Dr. Brown has attained great renown for his marvellous cures of diabetes. A little girl was his first patient and after her cure, he received patients from far and near, compelling him to remove from the place he then occupied to his present institution, which is situated in the most pleasant part of the village. The Health Resort is fitted, furnished, and arranged in the best manner, and secures to his patients the most possible enjoyment. The rooms are well ventilated, the grounds pleasant and shaded, and everything is carefully superintended by the doctor and his wife. Many patients have expressed their gratitude to Dr. Brown by presenting him with sworn testimonials, that others afflicted might know where to obtain relief. The doctor's practice is very large; the patients he has treated are numbered by thousands, and come from all parts of the land. All the credit for his successful career, however, should not be given to the doctor alone: his faithful wife has assisted and co-operated with him, proving a faithful and constant helpmate.

Dr. Brown is, and has ever been, the sincere friend of the suffering and oppressed. Previous to the war he was a pronounced anti-slavery man, and worked with every means at his command to put down the nefarious traffic in human lives With his father, and his brother, the late O. P. Brown, he made addresses throughout a large portion of this State, urging the people to vote and work for the freedom of the slaves. As a "boy orator" the doctor gained a wide reputation. Nor did his work consist in talk alone; for while the celebrated underground railroad was in operation, he assisted many a poor negro to gain his liberty. The doctor is a firm supporter of the principles of the Republican party.


Charles Clapp was born in Somersetshire, England, November 30, 181 2. When nine years of age he emigrated to this country with his parents, Ambrose and Hannah (Bartlett) Clapp. They located in Onondaga county, New York, and resided there until 1849, when they came to Clyde, in this county. Charles Clapp is the fourth child of a family of five sons and three daughters. He has three brothers and one sister living. Matthew, his oldest brother, resides in Onondaga county, New York; Joseph, younger than Charles, lives in Oakland county, Michigan; and Robert, the youngest of the four brothers, resides at Clyde. Mrs. Hannah Kernahan, of Green Creek, is the only sister living. She is older than Mr. Clapp.

Ambrose Clapp, the father, died about two and one-half years after he came to Ohio. Mrs. Clapp followed her husband two years later. Both belonged to the Church of England, and were worthy people and devoted Christians. Ambrose Clapp followed farming after coming to this country.

The subject of this sketch was brought up a farmer. He received a good common school education. For several years, while residing in New York State, he was engaged in working with a threshing machine. About the year 1835 Mr. Clapp came to Toledo, where he worked two years and a half farming and clearing land, excepting eight months of this time, when he was sick with the fever. After this he was engaged upon the turnpike from Lower Sandusky to Perrysburg, and labored upon this job until it was completed. While working at this, probably none of the laborers broke more stone than Mr. Clapp.

He next purchased the farm in Green Creek township, which is still his home, and on the 22d day of February, 1844, married Matilda Seaman, of Ottawa county, and began farming and keeping public house. His house was a well-known stopping place for travellers upon the turnpike for twenty-five years. The tract he had purchased was a wild lot, upon which few improvements had been made. There was a log house upon the land, and about five acres had been cleared. By unremitting industry and labor, assisted and encouraged by the work of his excellent wife, Mr. Clapp succeeded in making a fine farm and a pleasant and beautiful home.

About the year 1852 Mr. Clapp introduced the first successful artesian well in this part of the State. He made the first wells of this sort for Mr. Park and Mr. Johnson, in Ottawa county. He also did the first work of the kind in Sandusky county for Paul Tew, in Townsend township.

Mr. Clapp has been an industrious farmer, a careful business manager, and has succeeded well in every work which he has undertaken. When he began life in the West it was under most unfavorable conditions. From New York he proceeded to Detroit, thence to Toledo, having paid his fare to the latter place. While stopping in Detroit he had all of his money stolen. On his arrival at Toledo, he was therefore a stranger in a new place, and, worst of all, without money. But, happening to meet a gentleman whom he had known in England, he borrowed fifty cents from him, and this amount served for his use until he could earn more.

Mr. Clapp is a worthy and respected citizen. In politics he is a Democrat. He has been infirmary director, and has held other local offices.

Mrs. Matilda Clapp was born in Sussex county. New Jersey, February 22, 1824. Her parents were Daniel and Susannah (Knight) Seaman. Her father was born on Long Island, in the State of New York. Her mother was of German parentage, and was born in Pennsylvania. In 1833 Mr. Seaman and wife, with two sons and one daughter, moved from New Jersey to what is now Ottawa county, where they remained about fifteen years, when they came to Woodville, Sandusky county. There Mr. Seaman died, March 25, 1853, at the age of seventy-six. After her husband's death Mrs. Seaman resided with her daughter, Mrs. Clapp, twelve years. She died May 15, 1864, in her eighty-fourth year.

Mrs. Clapp is the youngest of a family of eleven children. Her brothers and sisters who are living at this writing, are — Daniel Seaman, Fremont, now seventy-four; Ira K. Seaman, Toledo, in his sixty-fourth year; Isaac N. Seaman, Brown county, Kansas, aged sixty; Mrs. Jemima Roberts, in Sussex county, New Jersey, in her seventy-second year; and Mrs. Susannah Edinger, Warren county. New Jersey, aged sixty-five.

Mrs. Clapp has given birth to eight children, five of whom are living — Daniel Ambrose, born January 9, 1845, married Margaret Grover, of Green Creek township, now resides in Brown county, Kansas; Ernestine, born April 30, 1847, died July 28, 1 851; Charles Holmes, born November 7, 1849, married Sarah Noble, of Green Creek, resides in Clyde; Seaman J., born December 10, 1851, married Mollie Jackson, of Green Spring, resides in Green Creek township; Horace, born November 25, 1853, married Sudie Keating, of Green Creek, resides in Toledo. The next child, a daughter, born February 28, 1856, died when eleven days old. Arthur, born July 17, 1857, resides at home. Robert Benjamin, born December 8, 1861, died January 16, 1865.

1 Information furnished by W. M. Harrison.

Source:  History of Sandusky County, Ohio with Portraits and Biographies of Prominent Citizens and Pioneers, by H. Z. Williams & Bro., Homer Everett, (c) 1882, pp. 604-652